Leave a comment

Interview: eXcess

My guest today is eXcess who has made hits such as Happy by now (feat. Fragics) and also done remixes such as Phaeleh – From A Distance  (See video at the top.) Without no more delay let’s get on with the interview!

3.47: What made you pick the name and the way it spelt out?
eXcess: The first goal was to have a short but yet catchy name, something people could easily remember. The meaning behind it was that ironically, I wanted to make “simple” (or accessible) music cause I believe that with all the excess and complicated things in our society, we need to get back to more rational stuff and keep in mind that some of the best things aren’t necessarily the most twisted or hard to reach. As for the capital X, it was because of the logo I designed where I put the X in the center of it, thought it made sense to put the stress on it there too.

3.47: So how long have you been making music for?
eXcess: I’ve started producing about 2 years ago, but I’ve always been into music. Before getting into producing, I was already spending most of my free time just looking for new tracks/genres/artists because I always needed some fresh music to listen to. I literally listen to music 90% of the time. So going to the other side and actually making the music myself was something bound to happen at some point!

3.47: What’s your favourite song at the moment?
eXcess: Hard to pick just one, I could name so many… There’s one track I just discovered today and I gotta say I love the vibes, it is Maksim — Daydreamin’. But Ficci — We’re Not Alone (feat. LaMeduza) is definitely another favourite right now. I could literally name another hundred of tracks but I’ll stick to these two haha

3.47: Hey I don’t mind man you go ahead lol
eXcess: Another one I really love that I just discovered lately is Lido, his remix of Justin Timberlake’s “TKO” is absolutely gorgeous! If you haven’t, check his whole soundcloud he’s definitely an artist to keep in sight!

3.47: To be honest I’m always looking for new music so yeah will definitely have a look at it! Are you surprised at how big you become?
eXcess: (Laughs) hush, I’m nowhere near big..! But I’m definitely glad I’m slowly but surely getting some exposure. My goal ain’t to “make it” or even get famous, I just want my music to reach (and speak to) as many people as possible. Every time someone tells me he can rely to one of my tracks or that it touches him, it means the world to me. I see music as a therapy and a lot of artists helped me quite a lot through hard times with their music, so I’m hoping mine will do too!

3.47: You never know man you might be walking down the streets and someone says OMG I know you!
eXcess: Not even sure I’d want that, but who knows as you said!

3.47: (laughs) true true! What was your reaction like when you saw the comments coming in about your music?
eXcess: To be honest I don’t think any feeling can top the one I have when I get positive feedbacks to my music. As I said I first started producing to express and sorta exorcise the things I went through or had in mind. So knowing people feel what I’m putting into my music is the best encouragement ever!

3.47: Are you playing live events or is that something you want to do?
eXcess: I’m also a DJ so I often do DJ sets, but it’s actually really rarely exactly the type of tracks I produce. I’d love to get booked to actually play my own music, but I never really had the occasion (except when I opened for Phaeleh). And an actual live show is a project I’ve been keeping in a corner of my head but it will happen as soon as I feel confident enough with my music.

3.47: Wow the energy opening the show must of been awesome! How often do you DJ then?
eXcess: It was, Phaeleh is one of the reasons why I started producing and probably my biggest inspiration, so getting the chance to actually share the bill with him was one of the best experiences in my life. I DJ something like once a month because I’m resident in parties in Brussels, but as I said it’s not really as deep or chill as my productions most of the time

3.47: You worked with nExow, The SK and Fragics, who would you like to work with next?
eXcess: In my wildest dreams, my goal is to get to work with Phaeleh someday. I’ll do my best to make it happen. In a more rational level, Ficci is an artist I really respect and would love to work with!

3.47: I was gonna ask if you had a chance to work with Phaeleh! Did you do the From a distance remix or before the event?
eXcess: I did it before the event but it’s an unofficial one to be honest. Getting the chance to do an official one for him is also one of my goals.

3.47: Would you say it’s easier to do a remix or harder than making your own track?
eXcess: It’s two really different exercises but I love both. When remixing, the challenge is to put your own sound and mix it with the original artist’s to propose your own vision of the track without messing with the original. When you do an original track, you begin with a blank page so technically you’re a bit more free. But it’s also the hard part, because sometimes you’re just throwing ideas without getting to something consistent… So yeah, I wouldn’t be able to pick one or the other cause I love both, I don’t think an artist could only stick to doing just remixes or never doing any

3.47: What would you say are the advantage/disadvantage of been independent?
eXcess: Well the advantage is easy. You don’t have to wait for anyone to tell you you can or cannot release these tracks for instance. I do all of my designs myself (cover, logo, etc) which allows me to completely control everything from A to Z without depending from anyone. But on the other hand, being independent doesn’t help to reach as much people as you’d want to. Releasing an EP through a label on all the major online music stores is much different than releasing your EP yourself with BandCamp for instance. But I don’t want to just wait for labels to finally be interested in my music so I’ll just stick to being independent for as long as I can!

3.47: What can we expect from you in the future?
eXcess: Definitely more and more collabs. I’m working right now with the really talented The Walton Hoax to name just one. And I’m also putting the final touch to my next EP, “Gentle Breeze”, which will be out soon on my BandCamp (can’t really tell a date yet but let’s hope it won’t take more than a month)

3.47: Whaaaaaa that’s a World Exclusive right there! Final question! Anything you want to say to your fans out there?
eXcess: Well just a simple and truly sincere “thank you” to every single one of you enjoying my music, you are what makes me want to keep on doing it!

3.47: Dude it’s been a great honour to do this interview and you have my full support!
eXcess : It was my pleasure man, thanks for the opportunity! Big up!

3.47 would like to than eXcess for taking the time out to doing this interview! Till next time guys!

eXcess Links
SoundCloud
Facebook
YouTube

Leave a Reply

