Leave a comment

Interview: Legit Liquid


Welcome back to another round of Fine Tuning347 Interviews! Today my guest is not an artist but a promoter and goes by the name, Legit Liquid! He has his own YouTube channel which he uploads new tracks every week from a wide range of different artist! Anyway let’s get on with the interview! Enjoy!

3.47: I guess the first question would be how did you come up with the name?
Legit Liquid: I came up with the name because I knew I wanted to upload chill music (that’s where the liquid part came from) and since I like alliteration so I picked Legit. Thus Legit Liquid was born.

3.47: I won’t deny it’s got a nice ring to it still!
LL: (Laughs) thanks man!

3.47: You started the channel back in 2012 and you got over 4000 subscribers now, did you ever think it would get this big?
LL: No I honestly didn’t. I started the channel because I love sharing music and wanted a good way to do it. The fact that I have over 4,000 subscribers and almost 1 million views just blows me away!

3.47: A million? Damn man I know you got the champagne on ice but you better bring it out for that man!
LL: Yeah I’m super excited to hit that milestone. Going to celebrate all day when it happens!

3.47: You got something special coming up for the anniversary in July?
LL: Well I’m currently trying to work something out with Heroic Records to have one of their artist make me a mix when my channel hits 1 million views. I’m hoping that the two will happen around the same time so the mix can be for that as well. Other than that I don’t really have anything planned. I would do another compilation but I just did one and I feel that would be overkill.

3.47: So you said you’re working with Heroic Records, how did come about?
LL: Well I’ve always had a lot of respect for Heroic and what they are doing and since I’ve promoted some of their artist before it just felt right asking them

3.47: Are you planning to do a podcast in the future?
LL: I think doing a podcast would be extremely cool to do but I’m going to wait til my channel gets a little bigger before I do that.

3.47: Yeah I mean it sure at a later date would be cool!
LL: Yeah I’ll let you know when I start doing them

3.47: You have a great selection of music on your channel; do you find it hard picking tracks at times?
LL: Actually the opposite, I sometimes have a hard time deciding what to upload that day. I get so many submissions that I haven’t had to go searching for music in quite a while.

3.47: So is it more a case now of saying I’ll do one a day or something like that? Also you got these amazing pictures with every upload! Where do you find them man?! *Ahem might need them for my blog!*
LL: Yeah I try to upload one video a day that way there is a steady stream of new songs for people to listen to. I get the songs from some photographers that I have gotten permission from. The two I use the most are Felicia Simion and Alexandra Sophie. You can find both of them on Facebook and they are extremely nice!

3.47: So you’re also a gamer which is cool to know! What’s your favourite game?
LL: My favourite game of all time would have to be Kingdom Hearts 2. Some of my happiest moments was playing that game, its perfect!

3.47: I’m really annoyed that the HD collection Kingdoms Hearts never came to 360 because yeah it would of been cool to play it!
LL: Yeah me too man, that would of been perfect

3.47: Do you get a lot of friends request over Xbox Live? I’m guessing after this you might!
LL: (Laughs) well, I’ve gotten a few but nothing major.

3.47: I can see it now friends list is full!
LL: (Laughs) that’d be nice

3.47: Has the YouTube policy made it harder for you to keep some tracks on your channel at all?
LL: Not really, since I don’t monetize any of my videos I don’t really have any problem but I’m sure if I partner up again I’ll have to be more careful with what I upload.

3.47: Who did you partner up with before if you don’t mind me asking?
LL: I was partnered up with edmDistrict for a few months but cancelled it. We left on good terms; I’m actually a moderator now for the edmDistrict forums

3.47: You also got another channel called Halcyon Vibes, would you say this is like an alternative to Legit Liquid? Also what made you pick this name?
LL: It’s more for songs with a different kind of vibe then you’d find on Legit Liquid though I’ve had to neglect it the past few months so I could focus more on Legit Liquid. I picked the name because I thought it would represent the songs I would be uploading on it.

3.47: What was your reaction like when you saw that you broke the halfway line at a million views?
LL: It was like a dream come true. I was completely humbled that so many people had watched my videos and that I was doing a good job promoting artist

3.47: If you could run your music label, what would you name it?
LL: I actually have one. I’m the label manager at Liquiwave Records and Michael St Laurent is the Label President. We have a few releases on iTunes and Beatport.

3.47: How did it all come about? Are you hoping to expand it to other digital stores?
LL: Well one day Michael message me wanting to know if I was interested in starting a label with him. I knew this would be another good way to help out artist so I said yes. Not yet, but maybe if we get bigger we’ll try to expand.

3.47: Quite a few YouTube music channels have their own mechanise, is this also something you are looking to do in the future? I’ll say it now I’ll slap down money for a T-shirt!
LL: Yes I would LOVE to have a Legit Liquid shirt it would be beyond awesome. Right now I have buttons that you can buy I don’t get any of the money though but it’d be nice to see people wearing them. I plan on doing shirts in the near future though so be on the lookout for them

3.47: Tell you what I’ll do! As soon as that bad boy gets here, I’ll take a picture with it on and have it on my blog!
LL: Awesome man, that will be just awesome!

3.47: Last question anything you want to say to your fans out there?
LL: Just want to say THANK YOU! Your support means the world to me, every time I get a new subscriber or a new comment it brightens up my day.

3.47: Hey I’m sure they are smiling when they see a new track has been uploaded!
LL: That’s all I can ask for!

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Legal Liquid for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Legit Liquid links
SoundCloud
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
Instagram
MySpace
Badges

Halcyon Vibes links
YouTube
Google+

Leave a Reply

