2 Comments

Interview: Ficci

My guest today is Ficci who has created hits such as While the city dreams (video above) and also made the two track charity single, I’ll always remember/By the Ocean with Snowflake doing the vocals. Without further ado let’s begin!

3.47: How did the name come about?
Ficci: I think the best way of describing how I chose my alias ‘Ficci’ was by trial and error. I just began by writing down random combinations of letters and finally came up with ‘Ficci’. I think that’s how a lot of artists do it these days. So I got to ‘Ficci’ and thought “Yeah, that’ll do”. Unfortunately, due to my ignorance back in those days, I didn’t realise that a massive, conglomerate company in India had exactly the same name. I bet I give them so many hits on their website.

3.47: How long have you been making music for?
Ficci: 2 … long. (laughs), I joke, I joke. Probably about 4 years now. So yeah; too long.

3.47: Was this something you always wanted to do?
Ficci: I don’t think it was, no. I honestly can’t remember what I wanted to do when I was little. It was probably something to do with writing. The reason I got into music production was because I was too impatient to study music theory, which I still can’t get my head around.

3.47: Are you surprised at how big you’ve become?
Ficci: (laughs), I’m not sure if I’m ‘big’ at this point but yeah, I am surprised at the amount of views/plays I’ve has in the last year. But in all fairness, I’ve worked my arse off so it shouldn’t be too much of a surprise.

3.47: What was your reaction like when you saw the feedback coming in about your music?
Ficci: I was totally stunned. I’ve had so many people message me or email me saying things like “your music is amazing, it’s helped me through hard times” etc etc. I may not be making a lot of money from my music, but these comments make it so much more worthwhile.

3.47: Are you playing live events or is that something you want to do?
Ficci: No I’m not playing live events at the moment. It’s definitely something I want to explore, but finishing University has meant this fantasy has taken a back-step. And the fact I’m skint.

3.47: You worked with quite a lot of artists, who would you like to work with next?
Ficci: Good question. I’d like to work with CoMa on a track or two. We have been in contact about collabs but things trailed off quite quickly. Luckily, I’ve had some amazing vocalists feature in my songs such as LaMeduza & Snowflake.

3.47: Would you say making your own tracks is easier than a remix or just as hard?
Ficci: I’d probably say that remixing is easier because they’ve already done all the recording already. You just have to change it up after that. Making original tracks from nothing can be a challenge and it really pisses me off when something doesn’t sound like I want it to. How I’ve survived this long without having a heart-attack, I don’t know.

3.47: What’s your favourite song at the moment?
Ficci: ZHU – Faded

3.47: What would you say are the advantage/disadvantage of been independent?
Ficci: Unfortunately, there are many disadvantages in being independent. First and foremost is the fact that I have to do EVERYTHING: Producing, recording, mixing, mastering, PR, Fan-base liaison, marketing, social media, artwork, distribution. If I had an agency doing some of this for me, I’d be able to bang out a lot more songs. I suppose the upside to being independent is having the freedom to control everything I do. And thankfully, I’ve been able to release individual songs to record labels, which means I have less to do and not be exclusively attached to one organisation.

3.47: I did a interview with eXcess recently and yeah he has a lot of respect for you man! Is there anyone out there that you feel that way towards as well?
Ficci: (Laughs), tell him I said thanks. Erm, I have a lot of respect for Culprate and Koan Sound, they’re re-defining Electronic Music at the moment.

3.47: What can we expect from you in the future?
Ficci: A lot of silence and probably a few people thinking I’m dead. I haven’t had an awful lot of time to do this music malarkey. But I have an EP coming out this summer on MrSuicideSheep’s label and another two-track coming within the next few weeks.

3.47: Do you have any other hidden talents?
Ficci: I’m pretty damn good at racing games. Modest much?

3.47: Do you prefer the driving simulators like Gran Turismo and Forza or you more into the arcade racers like Burnout and Need for Speed?
Ficci: I’m a Forza man to be honest, virus mode on multi-player was so much fun, I have many fond memories on that game. But to be honest I’ve played all of those games, and they’re all great. I remember a Burnout 3 drinking game that me and my friend used to play. There was this split-screen mode where you had to destroy as many cars as possible before you finished the race; ‘Road Rage’ I think it was called. And we had to finish a bottle of beer before the race ended, and try and finish first. Virtual drinking and driving is much safer, and much more fun.

3.47: See I loved Burnout 2 but when they did Paradise and it become one huge thing, I dunno it kinda lost the feeling to me! I think the only thing I enjoyed was the Cops and robbers DLC because it reminded of Chase HQ! *Christ I’m showing my age now and I’m only 31!*
Ficci: Yeah I know what you mean about ‘Paradise’. Lost some of the character that the older Burnout’s had.

3.47: If you had the power to run your own label, what would you call it?
Ficci: Shit Music Recordings … LTD.

3.47: Who would you say has been your biggest inspiration?
Ficci: Music-wise, probably Massive Attack and/or Burial. Those two kicked off my love for the emotive and creative side of music production. From listening to Burial, I knew that emotion had to be a key element in my music but it had to be unique. Finding your own sound as a music artist can be difficult, but i’d like to think I have.

3.47: Yeah man you found your own voice for sure no doubts about it! As I said in my thank you in my book about you if music could detail how awesome this guy is, it’s showing because he is pure awesome!
Ficci: (Laughs) thank you, very kind!

3.47: I know your busy at uni right now and play some racing games, but what else do you do in your spare time?
Ficci: (Laughs) good question. I’m mostly making music (obviously) and searching for jobs so I can afford better equipment. I occasionally go to the pub too, but the last month has been pretty sparse of fun. Hopefully it’ll pick up now that summer has arrived.

3.47: Yeah I’m hoping summer is going to be as it should be and not have some bizarre times where we have snow or other randomness! Kinda got the itch for an snake bite but I been Straight Edge for over 7 years so sticking to orange juice!
Ficci: Congratulations man, I’m not a big drinker myself to be honest.

3.47: What’s the best advice you been given?
Ficci: Be different with your music, don’t follow a fad that will die out in a day just because it’s ‘cool’. I think I read on one of these Hipster blogs that you should enjoy the journey, rather than the destination. It’s a bit of a lame source of inspiration but there is a lot of truth in those words. It’s something I constantly have to remind myself.

3.47: Final question! Anything you want to say to your fans out there?
Ficci: I love you, I would kiss you if I could.

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Ficci for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Ficci Links
Official website
SoundCloud
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
BandCamp

2 comments on “Interview: Ficci

  1. Very nicе post. I simply stumblеd uрon your blog and wisҺed to say tha I have truly
    enjοyed surfing arounhd your blog posts. In any case
    I’ll be subscribing for yiur rss feed and I hope you write onhce more soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

