Leave a comment

Interview: Crown Music

My next guest today is again not a artist but someone with an YouTube channel! Crown Music is a pretty new channel but already catching waves with the music been played on the channel! I caught up with Crown Music and this is how the interview played out!

3.47: How did the name come about?
Crown Music: For a long time I’ve wanted to have a music sharing channel but I’ve never had a unique name for it. Then one day the name ‘Crown’ just popped into my head, and it made sense as a crown is associated with superiority and not to be arrogant but it’s a good thing to represent my channel.

3.47: Who is the person behind the Crown Music? Is there more than one?
Crown: Nope. Just me. I prefer it this way as I choose what type of music and what songs I upload without any contention.

3.47: If you had the power to run your own label, what would you call it?
Crown: Probably ‘Crown Records’. As I said before, it’s a good thing to associate your organisation with as it gives a sense of eminence.

3.47: What makes your channel stand out from everyone else?
Crown: Well as you know there are hundreds of channels like mine, so it’s difficult to find something that makes it stand out but most other channels only upload once a day at most, some once a week. With my channel I usually upload two videos per day, so you can expect a lot more frequent content from my channel with perpetuate quality.

3.47: What can we expect from you in the future?
Crown: Pretty much the same thing to be honest. I’m going to try to get my hands on a copy of Adobe After Effects so I can add some cool graphics to my videos (e.g. the audio visualization that you see on a lot of channels.)

3.47: What is your favourite track right now?
Crown: I have a few. My current favourite in the charts is Sigma – Nobody to Love, my favourite chillstep one has to be Kaj. – Human. I love any chillstep songs that samples vocals from a speech, especially Alan Watts’ speeches — they’re incredible. My all time favourite song is Watsky – 4AM. I know it’s not chillstep but I love his kind of music too. It’s very poetic and his music has a lot of meaning to me.

3.47: Do you get a lot of tracks that you have to choose to upload each day?
Crown: Well I have a lot of favourite chillstep artists so I mainly check for any new stuff from them or any songs that I know my subscribers will enjoy. I also look out for new artists that I like when I’m listening to chillstep mixes so if I hear a new track that I like I’ll make a note of it and upload it the next day.

3.47: Did you ever think it will get this big
Crown: First of all, that’s what she said. More seriously though, I know my channel may not seem big to some of the bigger chillstep channels like MrSuicideSheep, but to me, I have a lot of subscribers. My subscriber count was going up very slowly to start off with, but in the last 24 hours for example I gained nearly 10 subscribers which I am very pleased about. But to answer your question, no, I didn’t think I would have this many subscribers after only two weeks of making videos.

3.47: Any hidden talents you got?
Crown: I wouldn’t really call it hidden but I love cycling. I often go for bike rides in the evening around my area through the fields which is very relaxing, but I also enjoy street riding, mountain biking and riding trials. A hidden talent that I do have is fast rapping (inspired by Watsky). If you search on YouTube for ‘Watsky Raps Fast’, I’ve recently mastered that song so I’m pretty pleased with myself being able to do that.

3.47: Has the YouTube policy made it harder for you to keep some tracks on your channel at all?
Crown: A lot of the songs that I upload don’t get any copyright claims, but some of them have been recognized and are allowed to have ads put on them for the artists to gain money from, which I’m fine with. Only one song says that it’s been blocked in multiple countries but still not taken down.

3.47: If you was given the chance to run YouTube what would you change?
Crown: First of all, I would get rid of the Google+ integration. I know it has its upsides, but the negatives outweigh the positives unfortunately. I would then bring back the yellow subscribe button and make the new subscriptions list the default page when you go onto YouTube instead of having to manually navigate to it. I would also possibly bring back the 5-star rating system. God I miss that. Something I would consider would be to have some selected channels to be music channels, which means they would upload audio files, so it would be similar to SoundCloud, but I’d have to think about that one.

3.47: Anything planned once you reach your milestone of 500 subscribers?
Crown: On every milestone (i.e. 100, 250, 500, 1000 etc.) I’m going to do a chillstep mix, but I might do something more for the bigger milestones. Not really sure yet to be honest.

3.47: Quite a few YouTube music channels have their own mechanise, is this also something you are looking to do in the future?
Crown: I’d be up for making merch if people would actually buy them, but I don’t think that’ll be something feasible for a long time yet.

3.47: Best advice you been given?
Crown: In terms of YouTube is just to persevere with it. Don’t expect to be a YouTube sensation overnight, you have to keep going at it, then it’ll keep getting more and more rewarding. In terms of life advice, is from Anthony Burns. He has a Facebook page where he makes some of the most inspirational videos I’ve seen. He teaches you to be happy for who you are and don’t let other people bring you down. This one is probably one of his most powerful

3.47: Final question anything you like to say to your fans out there?
Crown: I just wanna say thanks for watching my videos and subscribing. It brings me such happiness when I see a new subscriber and I hope everyone will keep watching my videos — they’re only going to keep getting better and better.

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Crown Music for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Crown Music Links
YouTube
Google+

Leave a Reply

