1 Comment

Interview: Neon Network

My guest today is Neon Network who has an YouTube channel with a variety of EDM, Chillstep and more! With 300+ subscribers, Neon Network is fast becoming one of the popular YouTube channels. This is how the interview between us played out!

3.47: How did the name come about?
Neon Network:My Favourite colour is Neon Blue, it’s full of energy and this is exactly like the music I promote, so why not name the channel after it!

3.47: You not a fan of Tron by any chance are you with all that neon colours?
Neon: I love Tron!

3.47: Who is the person behind the Neon Network? Is there more than one?
Neon: My name is Alex, and I live in England, UK. I’m 15 years old, 16 in august and It’s just me running Neon Network at the moment, although this may change due to the fast growth the network has experienced and the fact that I always intended Neon Network to be something bigger!

3.47: England? Same as me then! Good to hear we got someone making waves! I’m betting after this interview you gonna have people lined up asking hey can we join! I’m guessing you got your GCSE’s coming up still? Damn I’m showing my age now!
Neon: Yep. GCSEs in 10 days.

3.47: If you had the power to run your own label, what would you call it?
Neon: Running a label is a dream of mine, and I’ve thought for a long time about what the name should be if creating a label becomes possible. At first, I thought of “Neon Records”, but this has already been taken. I actually started a large Skype call of promoters and producers for easy communication, and over time the name for that call has officially become “The Music Illuminati Club” (weird, I know), but a few of the guys from that group want me to make “Music Illuminati Club” an official label, so there’s a few different options! (The label is now up!)

3.47: Ladies and gentlemen you heard it first : Music Illuminati Club coming soon! What makes your channel stand out from everyone else?
Neon: I think the thing that makes Neon Network stand out is the fact that I try as hard as I can to get to know my audience. I respond to every user (Or at least like their comments), and accept many partnership requests from other channels. I mentioned earlier about the group I created, and I love adding other channel owners on Skype and I’m more than happy to add fans or just anyone that wants to talk! Another thing that makes Neon Network stand out is the fact that the channel is focused on a more varied style of music, although all the music on the channel is EDM, it’s not just one subgenre and I upload pretty much every electronic style of music.

3.47: Yeah and I think because you’re doing that it’s making a lot more people become aware of your channel. What can we expect from you in the future?
Neon: As summer is getting nearer and I’m going to have a lot more free time to spend working on the channel, Neon Network will probably start to get a lot more features. I’m going to start concentrating on doing mixes (Mixing is a hobby of mine and my aspiration is to end up running a Label + DJ for a living), and the amount of uploads will definitely increase. In the summer I’m also going to start to work on forming the foundations for the record label, and Neon Network may see the starts of that label appearing any time between now and next year! I have a lot of friends that produce, and I’ve actually got FL Studio 11, and whilst I’m pretty bad at producing now, I’m doing my best to learn and improve, so maybe I’ll upload some of my own stuff to the channel.

3.47: Keep at it because like you said the more you do it the better you get at it! I’ll be on the lookout for it! What is your favourite track right now?
Neon: That’s a tough one, being a promoter I spend most of my time just listening to as many quality songs as possible, and I like most stuff (No big-room though, thanks 😛 ) My music taste definitely veers more towards the Progressive House, Drum & Bass, and Electro side, and I like pretty much everything in these genres. A few days ago I found a pretty old track on Liquicity by the awesome DnB duo “Matrix & Futurebound” named “Magnetic Eyes” and I basically fell in love with it instantly. Basically any track that Proximity or Liquicity upload I like, as the channels are almost identical to my music taste.

3.47: I’m gonna have a listen to that bit later on tonight! Do you get a lot of tracks that you have to choose to upload each day?
Neon: I’m actually kind of blown away by the amount of submissions I get, seeing as though I haven’t even hit 400 subscribers yet. I have a scary amount of songs to choose from, and now I have a system where I upload a submission, then a song that I found & LOVE, then another submission, then a song that I found etc…. That way there’s a perfect balance between defining my channel through my own taste and also doing what I feel is important, promoting the smaller artists that really do deserve more recognition.

3.47: 400 and still growing! When did the channel start?
Neon: The channel started December 28th 2013. 4ish months ago.

3.47: Did you ever think it would get this big?
Neon: Short Answer: No. Long Answer: I tried a while ago to start up a similar type channel. If it tells you anything, I got 8 subscribers in 1 year, compared to Neon Network’s 400 subscribers (almost) in 4 months. YouTube can be vicious and I guess I just arrived at the perfect time with Neon Network, because the EDM industry is really exploding.

3.47: Wow now that is crazy! What was the other channel called?
Neon: The Old channel was Centurion X – I deleted most of the video. No Point searching for it.

3.47: Any hidden talents you got?
Neon: I can mix. (Not really a hidden talent, but probably the only one I have). I’ve actually currently got the top spot on soundcloud for the search term “Melodic Dubstep Mix”, and this has 4000+ plays. I love mixing and It’s definitely something I want to continue with in the future. It also seems to be the only thing I’m actually reasonably good at, which is fortunate 😛

3.47: We can call that a talent! Mixing may seem hard to a lot of people because you need to find the right tune to go with it! Also nice going reaching the top spot on SoundCloud! Has the YouTube policy made it harder for you to keep some tracks on your channel at all?
Neon: Copyright on YouTube is obviously a major issues for channels like me. I try my best to keep on the right side of any issues, but I can honestly say that over 50% of the videos on Neon Network have been claimed by some sort of label and are now making money from my videos. As far as I know, I’ve made £0.00 from the channel due to labels and partnerships swallowing up any income, but this is not an issue due to the fact that I never intended it to be about the money, Neon Network is simply about music, and that will never change.

3.47: Well least you still feel the same way and keeping strictly about the music! If you were given the chance to run YouTube what would you change?
Neon: I would definitely change the copyright strike system. I think it’s a bit unreasonable that channels can be wiped permanently from just 3 strikes, which for a music channel can be an absolute nightmare.

3.47: 3 strikes? Yeah that does need to be changed then. What about Google+ and the comments system?
Neon: Google+ was a Disaster. Although now, I think it’s perfectly fine.

3.47: What’s the best advice you been given?
Neon: Concerning my YouTube channel, I’ve never really been given any advice and I’ve based everything I’ve done off personal ideas. However if we’re not talking about YouTube, the best advice I’ve been given (It’s more of a motivation, actually) is that no matter how hard you find something, if you give it your all and you know you have done your best, then you have succeeded.

3.47: Very true words and yeah I think they have helped a lot of people like yourself. Quite a few YouTube music channels have their own mechanise, is this also something you are looking to do in the future?
Neon: Yep. I love the idea! I really want a shirt with the Neon Network symbol on it, and I hope once the channel gains more popularity, other people will want these things too!

3.47: Let me know so I can preorder one! Anything planned once you reach your milestone of 500 subscribers?
Neon: Mixes. Lots and lots of mixes. I’ll also try to get a new website, but money can be a bit of an issue, so I’ll see about that when it comes to it!

3.47: Well I’m guessing as soon as this interview goes up you’ll be well on the way to it! Final question anything you like to say to your fan out there?
Neon: Simply thank you. Neon Network is becoming a dream come true for me, and without you all it would never have been possible! Every like, comment, and share makes my day and motivates me to find even more top quality music for you guys!

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Neon Network for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Neon Network Links
Official website
Facebook
YouTube
Google+

One comment on “Interview: Neon Network

  1. […] Completely forgot to post this yesterday but Alex of Neon Network informed me that last night he hit a milestone of 500 subscribers and getting close to 35,000 views! Congratulations and I’m glad to be able to see it happen! Check out the interview between me and him about Neon Network! […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

