Leave a comment

Interview: Resonata

My guest today is none other than Resonata! He’s new EP Full Circle contains the track listing of Butterfly Tattoo, Elise (Hit Rewind), Fairweather Friend, Tryst and On Familiar Shores (Preview video above). I had the chance to interview Resonata while breaking my F5 button listening to his tracks!

3.47: How did the name come about?
Resonata: I wish it had some really thoughtful or deep meaning. I was transitioning from a previous name and was looking for something I thought was unique enough to stand out when mentioned or when people searched the name. I started combining words together and came up with “Resonata” by conjoining “Resonate” and “Sonata”. Both were musical terms so I stuck with it.

3.47: Well that’s a cool reason either way! What was your previous name?
Resonata: “Become The Sky”. It was lame and the music I made under that alias was even worse so I just did away with the whole thing.

3.47: How long have you been making music for?
Resonata: I started producing around September of 2011 so I’ll be going on 3 years soon.

3.47: What music program did you start with? I know a few artist use FLstudio
Resonata: I bought a legit copy of FL Studio and have been using it ever since.

3.47: Was this something you always wanted to do?
Resonata: I have always been passionate about music. In high school, I had discussed starting bands with friends but nothing ever began. By the time I graduated I had decided that I wanted to become a film director, but life has a way of changing things like that.

3.47: Never know you might want to combine the two for your music videos!
Resonata: Trust me, professional music videos are in the works for at least 2 of the tracks on my upcoming EP.

3.47: What was your reaction like when you saw the feedback coming in about your music?
Resonata: I’m always incredibly happy with feedback. I started out really rough for over year and until the past 9 months or so, I hadn’t really gained any recognition and all of my “fans” were just real life friends and family I invited to like the page. When I see a new strange face giving feedback or showing excitement about a release, it makes my heart skip a beat. It’s an incredible feeling.

3.47: As I always say any feedback is good!
Resonata: Indeed, just like any promotion is good promotion

3.47: Would you like to play live at some point?
Resonata: I would love to play live. It doesn’t look like I’d be able to tour at the moment with my current career, but I would like to play local shows relatively soon.

3.47: Hope you do get to play live in your local town! Although you better be careful, people might start wanting your autograph!
Resonata: I actually have a plan to go to a local venue soon and hand out personalized CDs of my work for free.

3.47: From experience is making your own tracks easier than a remix or just as hard?
Resonata: To be honest, I like making original tracks more than remixes. It’s fun to not have a creative barrier to worry about. Not that you can’t be creative with a remix, but if it doesn’t resemble the original in anyway, it might as well not even be a remix. I just have a better time with original work.

3.47: I do have to ask this because I seen a few artist have like a VIP mix, what does it stand for and would you do one for your tracks?
Resonata: It stands for “Variation In Production” and I might depending on if there’s enough demand for one. Most of the time I just move my focus on to newer tracks.

3.47: What do you do in your spare time?
Resonata: I don’t have a million hobbies or anything, but I’m pretty social and have a group of friends I hang out with pretty regularly. I also have a son that I’m absolutely in love with and I like to take him to parks or just anything outside really.

3.47: That’s good to hear you’re doing a lot with your child! You hoping to teach him DJing when he gets older?
Resonata: If that’s something that he likes then sure, but I don’t want to be one of those parents who live vicariously through their kid. In the end, I just want what will make him happy and will help any way I can.

3.47: Given the chance who would you love to work with?
Resonata: Definitely Ficci or Eocene Nine. Both are massive influences of mine right now.

3.47: That’s a good mix right there and hopefully they are reading this!
Resonata: (Laughs) if I’m lucky.

3.47: What would you say are the advantage/disadvantage of been independent?
Resonata: Advantage would be creative freedom. There’s nothing I love more than that so that’s a huge plus. Disadvantage would be funding or the fact that I can’t live off of my music.

3.47: Like you said, you got full control on how you want to do things and to be honest without that power, you can lose the magic in each track.
Resonata: Yea the magic is an important piece of it all.

3.47: What’s your favourite song at the moment?
Resonata: I’ve had the same favorite song since I heard it over a year ago. Chasm by Eocene Nineh. It will probably stay at the top of that list for a while.

3.47: Good choice! What can we expect from you in the future?
Resonata: Consistency. I don’t ever plan on stopping production. This started as a hobby and even though it’s not my career, it’s more than just a hobby now. I’m always having surges of inspiration and I’ll progress, improve, and make music until the day I die.

3.47: Long as you keep on making REAL music I’ll keep on supporting you!
Resonata: I’ll do my best 🙂

3.47: Do you have any other hidden talents?
Resonata: I like to think I can sing. I just don’t have a proper mic. One more thing on my bucket list is to perform a stand-up comedy routine at a venue at least once in my life.

3.47: Stand up comedy? Now that is different! If I see you on Saturday Night Live I’ll be impressed! Can we expect to hear you sing in some future tracks?
Resonata: If I’m ever on SNL, I’d prefer to be the musical guest. Yea I have definitely been toying around with the idea of recording vocals for my own tracks. One of my new songs will feature some vocals by me, but they’re faint and more like background moans.

3.47: If you had the power to run your own label, what would you call it?
Resonata: Hmmm that’s tough. Probably Pariah Records if that’s not already a thing. I like the idea of signing extremely unique and not-so well known artists so I think the name would fit.

3.47: You know I think that could be a really good thing because the amount of talent out there not getting the exposure they truly need. But yeah if it ever did happen I’ll be happy to see it! What’s the best advice you been given?
Resonata: To take the Limiter off my master channel (Laughs)

3.47: Is there a story behind it?
Resonata: I used to export tracks without a clue to the mixdown process and the first guy I ever had master a tune of mine told me to take the limiter off. After that I looked up a couple tutorials on mixdowns and over the course of the next 6 months it significantly improved my sound.

3.47: What advice can you give to people who want to be like yourself?
Resonata: These are always hard to answer without sounding cliche so I’ll give a short story. When I first started producing, it was like some “get-rich-quick” scheme in my head. I figured I would just make dubstep, get famous, and the rest was history. I produced terrible dubstep for almost 2 years before I played around with the idea of making more chill music. It was then that started making music with a more personal meaning behind it. It flowed better and faster from my mind and I enjoyed it even more as well. My advice would be this: Make sure you pour your heart and soul into it. People notice when it’s a reflection of your soul because in a way, you’re reflecting something human that they see in themselves too.

3.47: Couldn’t say it better myself. And this goes back to my point of me saying I will always support REAL music because with nearly track I hear on my SoundCloud … You got this feeling for each track and that’s what keeps me searching for more music!
Resonata: I’m happy to know it moves people the same way it moves me. These days I won’t put out a song that I’m not emotionally connected to in some way. Every track is a little piece of my soul.

3.47: Given the chance to run YouTube what would you change about it?
Resonata: I would change a lot but the first thing would be the terrible algorithms they have for finding and de-monetizing videos with copyrighted songs. This is in most cases, okay, but there are tons of channels with all of the right permissions and still nothing is taken care of. There’s actually a song on my YouTube channel named “Rebirth”, that is 100% original that I had copyrighted over a year and a half ago that isn’t monetized because of copyright claim…ON MY OWN SONG… I disputed it and was snubbed, so any views (however little) are all going toward paying the company I did it through instead of me…

3.47: Seriously? Now that is just … Messed up. I’m not going to swear but yeah that is just stupid. Is there nothing you can do about it?
Resonata: I disputed it twice and got nowhere. I don’t have enough viewers/subscribers on Youtube to really even bother with it anymore. It’s just a headache waiting to happen.

3.47: Final question! Anything you want to say to your fans out there?
Resonata: Yes. If you’re reading this, thank you. Every play, comment, and share of my music is an accomplishment to me. I could never have done any of this without the listeners and for that I could never thank you guys enough.

3.47: Ladies and gentlemen let’s hear it for Resonata! The man who made the rewind button awesome again!
Resonata: Ayyyy
(Both Laughing)

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Resonata for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Resonata Links
SoundCloud
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube

Leave a Reply

