Leave a comment

Interview: Zoë Phillips

My guest today is none other than Zoë Phillips! The multi talented lady has hits such as Road Signs, Boat (video above) and Miss a turn! This is how the interview played out!

3.47: When did you first started getting noticed as a singer?
Zoë Phillips: Maybe the last few years? I have always loved the idea of singing but listening to old recordings I am not quite sure what was coming out.. I have always been musical/played instruments/sung solos at school etc though, and written song ideas since I was about 8!

3.47: What inspires you as a artist?
Zoë: Moods/emotions, colourful imagery, things that affect me and others in life, plus a vast range of other people’s music!

3.47: Who would you like to work with next? Anyone famous at all?
Zoë: Two ends of the musical spectrum: Let’s say Rae Morris or Tom Odell, and someone like Avicii/Deadmau5 would be the dream.

3.47: How hard is it being independent and trying to get your voice out there?
Zoë: It’s fun! but I guess it can be challenging at times with everybody using the internet; it can be an advantage and a disadvantage.

3.47: When it comes to a track do you get a lot of them and have to decline them? For example the beat might not be to your fitting or are you open to all types?
Zoë: A fair amount but I’m definitely open to most styles when it comes to collaborating. I like to hear some kind of emotion in the track for me to relate to it but I listen to most things and see if I can fit it in if I like it!

3.47: What was your reaction like when you saw the feedback coming in about your music?
Zoë: I try not to read too much into people’s comments like YouTube comments etc but I just get the general gist of if people like a song or not really. It’s sometimes the music I wouldn’t expect to be liked that is!

3.47: If you had the power to run your own music label, what would you call it?
Zoë: I’m terrible at coming up with names… Let’s go for Cranberry Records

3.47: What would you say has been the weirdest request you had?
Zoë: To sing in Chinese

3.47: When it comes to being independent what would you say are the advantage and disadvantage you have?
Zoë: Maybe more creative freedom and not being changed into what you’re not, vs less exposure and £s.

3.47: Are you playing live events or is that something you want to do?
Zoë: Yes, a select few whilst I write more!

3.47: What’s your favourite song at the moment?
Zoë: I love Bebe Rexha’s vocals on Cash Cash Take Me Home. My most steady favourite song is always either The Rolling Stones’ Brown Sugar or Start Me Up.

3.47: What’s the best advice you been given?
Zoë: Too much to fit here but maybe “Everything happens for a reason” etc etc.

3.47: Does anyone else in your family sing?
Zoë: My Mum and Nan like to hum a lot whilst cooking? But no, no active ‘singers’ or musical parents etc.

3.47: What do you do in your spare time?
Zoë: Make more music, play with my border collie in the countryside, drink/ eat too much with friends! I also love an English afternoon tea…

3.47: Do you have any other hidden talents?
Zoë: Once I flipped 13 beermats in one go.. I like to pretend I can paint and I’d love to be able to take creative photos but they are more hopes/appreciations than talents.

3.47: If you had the chance to run YouTube what would you change about it?
Zoë: Every video would be like interactive so you could choose how it carried on. Eg which ending for this song?

3.47: What can we expect from you in the future?
Zoë: New single, new EP, more music, more videos, more EDM collaborations, more everything!

3.47: Any words you want to say to your fans out there?
Zoë: hai : )

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Zoë Phillips for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Zoë Phillips Links
SoundCloud
Facebook
Twitter
BandCamp
YouTube
Google+

Leave a Reply

