Leave a comment

Interview: Nyte

My guest today is none other than Canada’s own, Nyte! His created hits such as Searching for a light, Lone walker and his latest track. Imagine Tomorrow (video above)! Nyte was kind of enough to give up some free time to do this interview!

3.47: How did the name come about?
Nyte: I wanted something short that was a representation of myself. Since most of my music is made at night, I thought that the name “Nyte” was a good fit.

3.47: How long have you been making music for?
Nyte: I have been making music since September 2013, so about 9 months. I’ve been putting a lot more time into music production the last three months, as I am just starting to experiment with all of the features included in the plugins and DAW.

3.47: Have you tried FLstudio as well? Also how easy are those programs you’re using now?
Nyte: FL Studio is the primary DAW that I am using.

3.47: Was this something you always wanted to do?
Nyte: I never really cared much for music until I turned 16, when I listened to the soundtrack from the video game Final Fantasy 13 and wondered how it was made. That fascination led to me researching the composer, Masashi Hamauzu, and trying to understand how his melodies and song structuring worked. I never played any instruments or listened to much music up until that point, so I made up for lost time by listening to music as often as possible.

3.47: What was your reaction like when you saw the feedback coming in about your music?
Nyte: I never expected anyone to actually enjoy my music, so it was definitely a nice surprise. I’m a perfectionist, so I’m always hard on myself about every little detail in my tracks. When I release a new song, it’s not because I am satisfied with the final result It’s because I’ve given up on trying to make it perfect. I just have to hope that people will like it. Positive feedback is definitely appreciated, as it lets me know that I made something that people could connect to.

3.47: Would you like to play live at some point?
Nyte: Yes

3.47: What do you do in your spare time?
Nyte: I listen to a lot of music and play video games every once and a while. I’m hoping to learn how to play the guitar, piano, drums, and violin eventually.

3.47: Given the chance who would you love to work with?
Nyte: Madeon and/or Masashi Hamauzu

3.47: What would you say are the advantage/disadvantage of been independent?
Nyte: An advantage of being independent is that I can release anything I want to, without having to run it by anyone. A huge disadvantage is that I don’t have the social reach that major labels do, so it’s hard to get my music out there for people to hear

3.47: What’s your favourite song at the moment?
Nyte: (Fred V & Grafix – Here With You feat Collin McLoughlin) I just heard it last week and am really into their style of Drum & Bass.

3.47: What can we expect from you in the future?
Nyte: Lots of new genres including Dubstep, Electro, and Trance, with my own little twist added to them. I’ve also got more Chillout, DnB, and Progressive House tracks in the works.

3.47: What advice can you give to people who want to be like yourself?
Nyte: Listen to as many genres as possible, not just EDM

3.47: Final question! Anything you want to say to your fans out there?
Nyte: Thanks a ton for supporting my last release “Recollections” and getting it to the top of the Beatport charts! I hope you enjoy my music and look forward to my new releases. They’re going to be all over the place, genre wise, so keep an open mind when listening to them.

3.47: Ladies and gentlemen I give you Nyte! Thanks for your time!
Nyte: No problem. Thanks for interviewing me.

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Nyte for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Nyte Links
Official site
SoundCloud
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube

Leave a Reply

