Leave a comment

Interview: KCMusic

My guest today is another up and coming YouTube channel going by the name KCMusic! The music promoter uploads songs daily and is not stopping any time soon! I caught with KC to find out more about his channel and his hidden talent!

3.47: How did the name come about?
KCMusic: I used to have a username for my PC, at first I needed to put a new username, I wanted to put Kolega (my surname), and I accidentally wrote ”Kolegic” and than press enter. Now at that time my best friend was at my house and saw that and he started to laugh and say that is funny and nice.. Since than I use for all my Email and other profiles the name ”Kolegic” When I started to post music, my YouTube account was ”KolegiCMusic”, but.. it was too long so I put KCMusic after couple of months.

3.47: Who is the person behind the KCMusic? Is there more than one?
KCMusic: I’m the only person who runs this channel, and there is no other who is helping me with the uploads or other stuff. My ‘real’ name is Carlo Leon Kolega and I live in Zadar a city in Croatia. I was born in Argentina and moved in here after 8 years.

3.47: If you had the power to run your own label, what would you call it?
KCMusic: This channel is a ”kind” of a label, well, not quite, but..in some way, because I have ”all” the permissions from ”all” artist I have uploaded so far. You can check them here : Beside that, I put ”all” social media links of the artist, and sometime, I have my own music ‘releases’ that I arrange with some small music producers, like ”Nect” ”Clau M”… If I was a REAL label, I would call it KCRecords or maybe leave like this..

3.47: What makes your channel stand out from everyone else?
KCMusic: My channel is nothing special, like most of others I upload good EDM (Electronic Music) music. All uploads are tracks that I personally really like!. Maybe in the future , I will have something that ”stands out” from other channels.

3.47: What can we expect from you in the future?
KCMusic: My channel is growing slow but safe, and I hope one day I will be big like NoCopyrightSounds, Liquicity, Monstercat, Proximity… I do wanna have my ‘own way’ of uploading music and promoting it, and I hope that in time I will do. You ”can” expect a bigger channel, but no promises. I will do all that I can to make it!

3.47: What is your favourite track right now?
KCMusic: My favourite track..depends on what day I have. For now ”Tristam and Braken – Frame of mind” I change my taste very fast, so by the time you are reading, this track is favourite no more..

3.47: Do you get a lot of tracks that you have to choose to upload each day?
KCMusic: I used to get a lot of track submissions, and I still do, but less, now I more ask for the permissions than wait someone to approach..The tracks that are submitted now are mostly good, but there are some artists who really need to work a ”’lot” on producing music, and for them I mostly ignore the submission. Still, no matter how much tracks I have submitted, I upload 2-3 tracks a week.

3.47: Did you ever think it will get this big
KCMusic: I have 700 subscribers, and I don’t think is big, but it’s something that I’m proud of. I start this as a hobby and I would love to keep it like that for now.

3.47: Any hidden talents you got?
KCMusic: Hidden talents? I can cook a minute rice in 58 seconds. 😛

3.47: Has the YouTube policy made it harder for you to keep some tracks on your channel at all?
KCMusic: YouTube is a big deal, I have some tracks that are 3rd match party, but I have the permissions from the artists. I used to have couple of videos that I had to remove it because it was ”copyrighted”, so for me it’s hard to keep up with YouTube, I need to be careful when I select what track I upload, because they might be under a label or it might be a remix of popular songs that are under ‘Vevo’ or ‘Spinin’Records’… Last week, I have a BIG problem with my YouTube channel, It was banned, along with some big EDM promotion channels like Xkito music, Jompa Music, Wasted Waves, Galaxy Music…

3.47: If you was given the chance to run YouTube what would you change?
KCMusic: Because of this copyright stuff that is detected by a YouTube machine, not a human, and often are made mistakes, I would most certainly remove that if I could. But other stuff about YouTube I like, I’m fine with YouTube now.

3.47: What’s the best advice you been given?
KCMusic: I had a lot of advices when promoting, ones where from my friends, ones from strangers or viewers. The best advice was that I should change my layout, and upload some music types that I didn’t used to before.

3.47: Quite a few YouTube music channels have their own mechanise, is this also something you are looking to do in the future?
KCMusic: I saw a lot YouTube music promoters or music channels have mechanise, and I would love to have it one day too, I hope in the future.

3.47: Anything planned once you reach your milestone of 750 subscribers?
KCMusic: Milestone of 750 subscribers? I really don’t have any plans for it, but I know that I will hit that one soon!

3.47: Final question anything you like to say to your fan out there?
KCMusic: For all my constant viewers, I wanna say THANK YOU, I always wanted to be a part of YouTube, like a YouTuber, or anything else. Now I feel like I’m a part of a BIG family, and it feels great!! I would love to have more fans and viewers/Subscribers in the future, especially BIG FANS. If is there any big fan that is coming in my city, he can search for me and get a free autograph or selfish with me (laughs)

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to KCMusic for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

KCMusic Links
SoundCloud
Facebook
YouTube
Google+

Leave a Reply

