Leave a comment

Interview: Establishment Music

My guest today are none other than Establishment Music! What started off as one person called Ricky running a YouTube channel has branched out to a team! I caught up with Ricky to find out more information!

3.47: How did the name come about?
Establishment Music: I decided that to stick by the philosophy of listening to the users and trying to put forward the music they like the most. So in a way, all of our followers and fans who decide what music becomes great hits and what is forgotten, are the music establishment. I wanted to represent that.

3.47: That’s a nice way of putting it I like it! Who is the person behind Establishment Music? Or is more than one person?
E.M: I started the channel alone but soon realized that if I wanted to have enough time to look for the topmost quality content I want, I needed help. Now there are three people working daily on the channel to deliver daily great content, plus two other team members that help us out with marketing and the event planning we do locally. I still pick every track personally and then we all work together to present it in the best way possible.

3.47: That’s pretty cool to hear that you got a team now! Is there times where the team show you a track and you disagree with it?
E.M: I’m still the only one involved with the selection of artists and tracks, while my collaborators manage the production of videos, selection of images, contacts with photographers and so on, so that isn’t really the case, even if we often comment the tracks and the work we get done together!

3.47: How did it first come about opening a channel?
E.M: Well I always turned to YouTube when I wanted to study or chill and I wanted some music while doing so, but often times I would be able to find the right playlist to suit my mood or activity. I thought that there might be other people like me looking for a channel with a certain style and vibe and that channel just wasn’t there. So I made one.

3.47: Yeah I think it’s the same with a lot of channels now on YouTube because everyone kinda has a different style to them! But yeah it’s great to hear you took it a step further and made a channel! If you had the power to run your own label, what would you call it?
E.M: I think I would stay true to the identity we are building with establishment. In fact, we are starting to help a few artist produce their music and distribute it on the internet, and we have a website up and running at EstablishmentRecordings.com. You could say we are beginning to offer some of the services typical of a digital recording label, although on a much smaller scale.

3.47: Wow now that’s awesome to hear! Are you still searching for new talent?
E.M: Of course! We are always looking for new great tracks and talents.

3.47: What makes your channel stand out from everyone else?
E.M: We try to consistently upload the music that our followers showed us they want to hear and to pay attention to their requests and suggestions.

3.47: You hear that world! You make the choices! How’s that for service with a smile! What is your favourite track right now?
E.M: Pretty much every track I choose is associated with a special memory or happening so it would be pretty much impossible to house a “favourite” track for me!

3.47: I can relate to that fully! With music it can just open so many doors for everyone. Is there a song that makes you think please don’t play that one?
E.M: When I hear some really popular track on the radio too many times, after a while it just gets to the point where I can’t stand it any more. I need variety! But that subsides quickly after a short while of not listening to the song.

3.47: Did you ever think it will get this big?
E.M: I never thought about it. I guess we are only happy to reach more people with music they enjoy!

3.47: I think the fans agree with you on that one! Any hidden talents you got?
E.M: I surely hope to find out one day.

3.47: Well if I hear you somehow had a career change and become the next director of the year, I wanna be the first to hear it!
E.M: (Laughs), I will definitely let you know!

3.47: You have a great selection of music on your channel; do you find it hard picking tracks at times?
E.M: That’s for sure! Picking the right music to upload is what consumes most of my time working on the channel. Sometimes finding the right artist and the right track doesn’t happen for days, and those days you just keep browsing SoundCloud eternally for something awesome and new.

3.47: I gotta be honest SoundCloud is pretty amazing due to allowing new talented people to upload their music! It’s the new YouTube in my case! Has the YouTube policy made it harder for you to keep some tracks on your channel at all?
E.M: Sometimes YouTube asks us to take down tracks we have the permission for, and those times it’s kind of annoying to have to look for and organize all the legal proof for it, but overall there hasn’t been any blatant injustice by their part.

3.47: Yeah I was speaking to someone else about it and they said if you get 3 strikes you’re done. I think it does need to be reworked if you ask me.
E.M: That’s true but if you have all the rights to publish, they always take back the strike / take down notice. At least this is what happened with us.

3.47: If you could run YouTube what would you change?
E.M: YouTube is an amazing platform. I really like using it, but maybe I will have a different opinion when I’ve worked on it longer.

3.47: I’ll give you another six months and ask you that question again! Quite a few YouTube music channels have their own mechanise, is this also something you are looking to do in the future?
E.M: I truly hope so! It would mean that people like listening to our channel so much that they even want to wear our logo. I do own a single pen with our logo on it right now.

3.47: Just one pen?! I thought the whole team would be having a set of them! Also where can I get one!
E.M: Just one. I don’t think we have the money to make one for everyone in the team, but we can share I guess.

3.47: What do you do in your spare time?
E.M: Spare time?

3.47: Yeah you know when you’re not working on the channel, your free time?
E.M: I know, I know. It’s just that time seems to be such a valuable resource these days, that is really hard to find some to spare.

3.47: What can we expect from you in the future?
E.M: Great effort in putting out there the best tracks you haven’t heard of yet.

3.47: You ever thought about that using that as your catchphrase for the channel?
E.M: It actually was in the first days! But I soon found out another, much larger channel, had the same exact one. So much for my originality.

3.47: Final question, do you have anything you like to say to your fans out there?
E.M: Talk to us! We love to hear about what you like and what you don’t like, and what you’d like to see more of. And talk about us: the more people know about the channel, the more artists will be able to reach us and the more great tracks I will be able to publish.

3.47: Ladies and gentlemen you heard the man! Don’t go silent in the night, preach it!

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Establishment Music for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Establishment Music Links
Official Website
SoundCloud
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
Google+
E-mail address: theestisus@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

