Leave a comment

Interview: Leopards love music

My guest today goes by the alias Leopards love music! She has created piano versions of track such as Blackmill’s Rain, Electus’s Here With You (ft. Annie Sunday) (video above) and even more impressive, Killigrew’s Coming Home. The lady herself gave up some free time to do this interview!

3.47: How did the name come about?
Leopards love music: Its my three favourite things in the world… leopards, love and music 🙂

3.47: Well that makes sense then! How long have you been making music for?
LLM: I started learning piano in September 2012. I had just recently discovered Blackmill and absolutely fell in love with his music. I wanted to learn to play those incredible melodies so I started trying to figure them out on the piano. I learned how to play solely through doing piano covers of my favourite songs. I’ve always loved listening to music but its only because of Blackmill that I started playing instruments and ultimately realized that whoa maybe its possible to create my own music.

3.47: Yeah I gotta say I was well impressed hearing Rain been done! Do you get people making request of some tracks now? Also does anyone else in your family play music as well?
LLM: (Laughs) Rain is the first song I attempted learning, I’m not even quite sure I got it right but yea I really love that song 🙂 Yes occasionally people request tracks. I grew up around a bunch of rockstars! My dad was always into music so he taught all my older siblings to play guitar. They’re all music masters but I’m a lot younger so completely missed out on it. I will say though one of my favourite things is to fall asleep to the sound of a guitar being played 🙂

3.47: What was your reaction like when you saw the feedback coming in about your music?
LLM: It was so incredibly exciting for me! Every time I see the little bell on the right corner of my screen light up I’m like ahhh 😀 and it makes me so happy to read all the nice things that people have to say. I think what has been most exciting for me though is getting comments from the music producers of the songs that I do piano covers of. They are such an influence and inspiration to me and it means a lot.

3.47: I noticed that Killigrew reached out to you on the piano version! His such an awesome guy! I’m glad you did it because yeah it sounded just as good as the original!
LLM: Yes, Killigrew is awesome! And no, I don’t think anything could ever be as good as the incredible original. I listen to that song just about every day and every time it makes me smile 🙂 The second melody, words could never describe how amazing it really is!

3.47: How hard has it been making the piano versions of songs?
LLM: When I first started it was quite difficult but now that I somewhat know how to play piano (Laughs) its not so hard. I find that I can only do piano covers of songs that really captivate me though. I feel the intense emotion of the melodies and sounds of a track and when I try to figure it out on the piano it just comes to me. That way when I recreate the song for a full piano cover the heart of the song is still present and hopefully for all the listeners, the intensity is still felt. I’ve had a few people request songs for me to cover but when I try to figure them out on the piano the result seems so mechanical. That is not what music is to me, a mechanical, emotionless mix of sounds. To me music is the voice of the heart, an audio representation of ones feelings and emotions, and that’s what makes it so special 🙂

3.47: I couldn’t say it better myself! I say it to a lot of artist out there that I will only support REAL music and I gotta admit there has been two artist that I listened to and the tracks were so emotional that I ended up crying because of it! It’s also great that you can still keep that raw feeling in the piano version because that is a huge challenge! What do you do in your spare time?
LLM: Everything music. (Laughs). I’ve actually been learning music production since mid November… watching YouTube videos, reading books, reading random articles on the internet and just messing around on Ableton with plug-ins and all that fun stuff. When I’m not learning something about production I’m either playing piano or learning to play the guitar. Other than that… stargazing or daydreaming 😀

3.47: Wow you play the guitar as well? Will we be seeing some your guitar stuff added in later videos maybe?
LLM: (Laughs) I wouldn’t say that I play the guitar, but I’ve been wanting to learn for a while now and finally started like a month ago. I’m still so new to music, it hasn’t even been 2 years since I first started playing piano. But Blackmill helped me realize that this is what I want to do. So I’ve decided to dive straight into it and learn as much about music as possible. Eventually I would like to learn the drums as well. It might be a while before you see me playing other instruments in my videos but yea for sure at some point 🙂

3.47: Most of the music you done so far have been cover songs, do you plan on making original ones as well at some point?
LLM: Yes, definitely. Its my biggest dream to be a music producer. I’m working on a few songs at the moment. Aiming to release some of my creations in December as then I’d have a full years worth of learning and hopefully my songs will be at least decent quality by then. Working on a few mellow piano songs and some nice upbeat songs. My main focus with my music is to create songs that spark adventure, fantasies, dreams and happiness.

3.47: I can’t wait to hear it to be honest with you! It’s good that you’re not trying to rush it either because when you do, it will start to lose the magic in them! Will you be singing in any of them as well or you just going to be leaving it to just the piano for now?
LLM: I’ll just leave you to wonder 🙂

3.47: What’s your favourite song at the moment?
LLM: Sacred – Secret Places

3.47: I just listened to it and yeah it does have a nice flow with it! Can see myself drifting away with it for sure! What can we expect from you in the future?
LLM: Some better quality piano covers and hopefully some of my original music soon.

3.47: Better? I sure we all agree it’s good stuff you pulled out so far! But the original stuff, that’s going to be awesome to hear!
LLM: I learn something new about playing the piano every time I learn a new song. I’ve been learning a little about recording lately though so hopefully it will be better audio quality 🙂

3.47: Do you have any other hidden talents?
LLM: I really like videography.

3.47: Is that something you like to remain as a hobby or would you like to go pro with it?
LLM: Its just something I love messing around with. Expect to see it alongside my music though when I release 🙂

3.47: Given the chance who would you love to work with?
LLM: Blackmill! Blackmill Music means more to me than anything else in the world. His music has helped me and continues to help me through the roughest of times. He is also the reason I got into learning to play piano and now recently learning music production. So to work with him would be nothing short of incredible. I would also love to work with Sacred, Electus and Killigrew 🙂

3.47: Second person who has that and I agree would be great to see that has happen! Hopefully his reading this interview and will get back to you on the offer! I’ll put in a good word for you with Killigrew!
LLM: Thank you, that is very kind! But I can’t even begin to think about such incredible things… at least until I release some of my own creations. I’m pretty excited to see what people will think.

3.47: What’s the best advice you been given?
LLM: Don’t ever let anyone tell you what to do or who to be in life. Or tell you you can’t do something. Anything is possible if you believe. Don’t sit around waiting for the perfect time to do something because that perfect time will never come. Just make it happen, make it happen now. Live in the now because now is forever 🙂

3.47: Those are some very good and motived ones I gotta say! Sounds like they kept you on course doing your music! Do you write poetry in your spare time? I can feel a lot of energy coming off the videos but was wondering if you did?
LLM: I wouldn’t say its poetry that I write but I do like writing randomness every now and then.

3.47: What advice can you give to others who want to do what your doing?
LLM: If you want to have anything to do with music you gotta put your whole heart into it…all of your emotions. The good, the bad, the hurt, the happiness and most importantly – LOVE 🙂

3.47: That’s great advice! Final question! Anything you want to say to your fans out there?
LLM: You are the awesomest! To all of you who started playing piano because of me, I’m so proud of you, keep up the good work. Much love ❤

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Leopards love music for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Leopards Love Music Links
YouTube
Google+

Leave a Reply

