1 Comment

Interview: Purple Turtle

My guest today is a YouTube channel going by the name Purple Turtle! With over 800 subscribers and still growing, the channel has fast become one of the most talked about channels! I sat down with the man behind the channel to hear his views!

3.47: How did the name come about?
Purple Turtle: Well the name came around when we and a friend where thinking of a name to call a channel were we just uploaded different songs a couple times a week. We wanted a catchy name and it just came around, I like turtles and even though I’m a boy my favourite is purple so I put both together and Purple Turtle started.

3.47: Nothing wrong liking the colour purple! I mean let’s face it the Joker from Batman rocks in that colour! Hell I won’t lie I even got a purple Monstercat t-shirt in that colour!
P.T: Awesome! I have multiple colours that I like.

3.47: Who is the person behind Purple Turtle? Or is more than one person?
P.T: So my name is Lewis Ombler and i`m from the England. At the moment there’s only me behind the channel but that could change in the future. It will be me for a long time yet I would think though.

3.47: That’s fair enough things may change in the future we just don’t know!
P.T: Yeah, Anything can change with the channel, I`m still always going to upload music daily. Nothing will change about that.

3.47: How did it first come about opening a channel?
P.T: I used to do graphics design videos on YouTube and had a number of subscribers but I got bored of making them videos. I had a passion for electronic music and would though I would start uploading music on to a music channel which is now PurpleTurtle.

3.47: Now for people who haven’t seen your channel, do you still use graphic design on your channel?
P.T: Well, I don`t do graphics design videos on my channel any more, All the artwork, including channel art, banners, video overlays and logos are made by me.

3.47: If you had the power to run your own label, what would you call it?
P.T: I have been thinking about a label, It would be PurpleTurtleRecords or TurtleRecords.

3.47: Like I said anything could happen in the future! We saw Neon Network saying about his record label recently launched as well!
P.T: Yeah, I will hopefully launch it in the future! I have other plans to come before that though.

3.47: What makes your channel stand out from everyone else?
P.T: Something must stand because I am growing very fast, I think because it is my interaction with fans. When someone asks a question I always answer it, Also I think I have a unique channel design with the amazing pictures which I find and the music I upload.

3.47: I was going to ask where do you get those pictures from! Some of them pretty damn good! Like you said it’s great that you interact with the listeners as well because more of the bigger ones don’t bother!
P.T: Yes! The photos come from the photographers themselves, I love photography and the photos I find are the style of photography what I like. I think it is better to interact with people, it just gives a community feel to the channel.

3.47: What is your favourite track right now?
P.T: My favourite track at the moment, ERM.. that’s a hard one. It would have to be R3hab, NERVO,Ummet Ozcan – Revolution. The build up and drops in it are amazing. I have many tracks what I find everyday and enjoy but at the time I am replying to your questions, I am listening to that song.

3.47: And what’s your favourite one now :p
P.T: Like I say I have many favourite songs ranging from lots of sub genres in electronic music.

3.47: Did you ever think it will get this big?
P.T: I hoped it would be this big and grow this fast but, I wouldn`t think in this time I would get this far. I always have people messaging me saying how are you growing this fast and friends are always messaging me on Facebook saying amazing things. It gives you more motivation to have the channel.

3.47: Wow now that is great hearing that you get so much feedback come in like that! How long has the channel been open for then?
P.T: The channel surprisingly has only been about for just about 3 and a half months which is crazy that I have came so far in such a small amount of time!

3.47: Any hidden talents you got?
P.T: I haven’t got any talents, I like photography what I think I`m half decent at, but that’s not really hidden. The only hidden talent I have is finding amazing music for all the dudes and gals for my channel 😀

3.47: Possibly we might see some of your shots used in future videos?
P.T: Definitely, i`m always out with my camera and I have got many photos on my computer, If anyone does want to check them out visit my Instagram profile, @lewis_ombler

3.47: You have a great selection of music on your channel; do you find it hard picking tracks at times?
P.T: I sometimes find songs what I want to upload and get many submissions a day so its not that hard. It`s why I love the channel, you find amazing new music every day.

3.47: Very true and as I said in a previous interview, things like SoundCloud and YouTube have helped me find new and exciting music from talents I never heard of and I love it!
P.T: Yeah! Social media helps a lot always, I don`t really use Soundcloud that much but its a very good website.

3.47: Has the YouTube policy made it harder for you to keep some tracks on your channel at all?
P.T: Well, I have had some third party blocks, but no copyright strikes what I DO NOT want. As long as you get the labels permission and artists permission you should be fine 🙂

3.47: I heard a few horror stories about the strike system but yeah glad to hear you’re lucky not to get any!
P.T: Yeah! I really don`t want my channel deleted, that would be horrible!

3.47: If you could run YouTube what would you change?
P.T: If I was to run YouTube I would have a feature section where everyday different smaller channels have the chance to be featured. This being from music channels to silly pranks and others.

3.47: That does sound pretty come to think of it and yeah it will help give exposure to help them out more as well I like it!
P.T: Yeah, its always good to give exposure to the smaller channels, I think it would be a very good idea! I will phone up YouTube and ask them 😛

3.47: Quite a few YouTube music channels have their own mechanise, is this also something you are looking to do in the future?
P.T: Yeah, I am going to be looking at bringing my own clothes line in the near future. I have started work on the designs and I can`t tell you all the name but it will hopefully be coming soon. I havent yet decided if its going to have a relation with the channel but we will see 🙂

3.47: Remember people, you heard it heard first! World Exclusive once again!
P.T: Yeah, i`m really looking forward to it. It is going to be hard work but is going to be a very good experience!

3.47: What do you do in your spare time?
P.T:In my spare time, I go shopping, spending money. I do photography what you can check out on my Instagram page. I also love all different cars, mainly supercars so I like photographing them and going to watch motorbikes at racetracks. I hope to have supercars one day when I get older! :D. I get up to lots but I also do graphics design. I don`t do much because i`m so busy but if people request, I can sort them out with a good deal.

3.47: Given the chance what car would you like to own? I think it’s cool hearing that as well because I don’t think a lot of people like the old school cars any more! When you do the designs do you ever get any weird request where you looked at it and said erm … Okay if that’s what you want…
P.T: Ooohhhh, that would be awesome. It would probably at the moment be the Lamborghini Adventador LP-700 in lime green, suppose I could get it purple and put a big turtle on it. That would be rad! I have had one request before where people just fool you around, they get you to make the design. Then they decide they don`t want it. You get quite annoyed some times!

3.47: What can we expect from you in the future?
P.T:In the future you can expect a clothes line, more amazing music, new mixes, maybe some live sets what I can mix. I have many ideas for the channel, I can`t tell you them all though 😛

3.47: Damn I was hoping to score another exclusive!
P.T: Yeah, I have some good ideas what I want to try. I was going to do a video about it for the 500 subscriber mark but then I decided not to. Its something I haven`t ever seen before on a music channel so it will be interesting when I come round to do it!

3.47: Final question, do you have anything you like to say to your fans out there?
P.T: All I want to say is that, every like, comment, share helps the channel so much. If you guys where not here, PurpleTurtle wouldn`t be here. I love you all and I have got many plans in the future to develop the channel and provide you with so much content every day. I am going to keep doing this for as long as possible to keep you guys entertained and provide what is the best music of this time. I want to say thank you to you for letting me do the interview, It has been awesome! Thanks everyone for making this possible!

3.47: I’m honoured to have you come this interview and you’re welcome to come by any time! Ladies and gentlemen let’s hear it for the Purple Turtle!
P.T: Thanks!

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Purple Turtle for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Purple Turtle Links
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
Google+
Instagram

One comment on “Interview: Purple Turtle

  1. […] If you like to know about Purple Turtle, check out the interview I did with him earlier this month! Once again congratulations to you Purple Turtle and hope to see you reach another […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

