Leave a comment

Interview: Arkana

My guest today is none other than Arkana! He has created hits such as Revealing Light (video above), Take this final dance and Balance! Arkana was kind enough to give up some free time to do this interview!

3.47: How did the name come about?
Arkana: I just stumbled upon it and liked the meaning of the word. It was originally going to be “Arcana” but that was taken.

3.47: For people like myself who don’t know what does the word mean?
Arkana: The word means “secrets or mysteries.”

3.47: How long have you been making music for?
Arkana: I’ve been playing guitar for about 4-5 years and I started producing electronic music 1 and a half years ago.

3.47: Will we be hearing some of your guitar worked into any of your future tracks?
Arkana: Absolutely šŸ™‚ Hopefully sooner than you think…

3.47: Was this something you always wanted to do?
Arkana: Not always, when I was younger I was more interested in computers (programming, modding games etc). Luckily electronic music is kind of the best of both worlds.

3.47: That’s sounds cool to hear you found a balance between the two! What was your reaction like when you saw the feedback coming in about your music?
Arkana: It definitely feels good to know your creations have had a positive impact on the lives of others however, it’s made me more critical of my work and makes me want to push musical/technical boundaries.

3.47: Do you try push yourself even harder than before on each track then?
Arkana: Yes definitely. I’m always learning new production techniques and applying them in different ways to my new tracks. It’s a constant competition to one up myself.

3.47: Would you like to play live at some point?
Arkana: Of course! Though I was never a huge fan of the idea of DJ’ing. I’d like to have a more theatrical show with live instruments/synths one day…

3.47: Never know! You might be playing in your own home town and it will get big from there! From experience is making your own tracks easier than a remix or just as hard?
Arkana: I’ve only made one remix and it went very smooth for me, it’s definitely nice to start with foundation. There are so many variables that come into play when creating music it’s hard to judge the difficulty level for each project.

3.47: Never know! You might be playing in your own home town and it will get big from there! What do you do in your spare time?
Arkana: Hanging out with friends, hiking, and video games.

3.47: What’s your favourite video game at the moment?
Arkana: I’m pretty addicted to Dota 2

3.47: Given the chance who would you love to work with?
Arkana: Definitely Koda. His voice/atmosphere on his tracks are brilliant.

3.47: Yeah the guy is a beast! Never know maybe he will be reading this interview! What would you say are the advantage/disadvantage of been independent?
Arkana: I suppose making my own calls is an advantage… and I haven’t really found a disadvantage yet personally.

3.47: That’s good to hear you haven’t found one yet! I think a lot of the artist I interviewed so far prefer the independent scene than going pro! That’s fair enough! What’s your favourite song at the moment?
Arkana: I don’t really have one. My tastes/opinions change on a daily basis.

3.47: That’s fair enough! What can we expect from you in the future?
Arkana: Definitely more music šŸ™‚ I’ve been working on some cool stuff the past two months and I am stoked to share… eventually!

3.47: Can’t wait to hear it on your new EP whenever it drops! I say take your time on it and ride it out till you feel its ready! Do you have any other hidden talents?
Arkana: Mostly other computer/technical related things I guess!

3.47: That’s fair enough! If you had the power to run your own label, what would you call it?
Arkana: I don’t really have the desire to run my own label, it seems like every single artist I know is doing it.

3.47: That’s interesting to hear because like you a lot of them are! Would you want to team up with someone who already runs one or leave it alone completely?
Arkana: Perhaps! Something more established would definitely intrigue me.

3.47: What’s the best advice you been given?
Arkana: To ignore what other people are doing and try to focus on your own goals, especially pertaining to the EDM scene. It sounds cliche but it’s helped me a lot to remember that.

3.47: Yeah it’s true and you found your own sense of style in your music! What advice can you give to people who want to be like yourself?
Arkana: Don’t try to be like me, (Laughs). Umm… seek knowledge before fame and stick with your gut.

3.47: Very true and I agree with the words said! Given the chance to run YouTube what would you change about it?
Arkana: A YouTube app that still allows you to play videos off mobile devices when the screen is off. That shit is irritating!

3.47: Yeah thisx100! What shocks me is that it’s the same problem on the consoles as well where you can’t watch some videos because they are only for the PC! Final question! Anything you want to say to your fans out there?
Arkana: I love you all and thanks so much for supporting my dreams!

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Arkhana for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Arkhana Links
SoundCloud
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube

Would you like to be featured next? Then get in touch by filling out the form below!

Leave a Reply

