Leave a comment

Interview: Arkisma

Today my guest is Arkisma which is a very unique name! He’s tracks include San Francisco and the song above, Unition! Arkisma took some time out of his busy schedule to allow me to do this interview!

3.47: How did the name come about?
Arkisma: Arkisma comes from “Charisma.” I wanted to have a name that would be a little abstract, so I changed Charisma to Arkisma because I thought it fit the calm yet powerful sound of my music.

3.47: I gotta be honest it does! I mean I heard your track Unition and immediately have the chills running down my spine and I instantly though this is gonna be something special right here! How long have you been making music for?
Arkisma: I’ve played guitar, piano, and violin since I was about 7, and I started to write songs on my guitar when I was about 10. I’ve liked Alternative Rock bands like Coldplay and The Fray from a young age, but I recently got into EDM in the past few years. I started producing in FL Studios less than a year ago, and I’ve been addicted ever since!

3.47: Wow now that’s big! Do you still play those instruments from time to time now? That’s a big switch from alternative rock to EDM! Do you think we might hear an track that will be alternative rock someday?
Arkisma: Yes, I love playing acoustic instruments, and I’m looking forward to recording some violin and guitar for upcoming tracks!

3.47: Was this something you always wanted to do?
Arkisma: Skydiving and Kiteboarding.

3.47: Do you still plan to do that or is that now something left in the past?
Arkisma: Oh yes, I’m an adrenaline junkie 😀

3.47: What was your reaction like when you saw the feedback coming in about your music?
Arkisma: I was extremely excited when people started telling me that my songs were good. I never thought people would actually listen to my music when I first started. I also love seeing how feedback changes every song as I get better at producing.

3.47: Feedback is always important because we learn new stuff and I gotta say already I love what I hear! Sometime in the future would you like to play live?
Arkisma: My dream is to go on tour, playing around the country for fans!

3.47: Oh man let me know when you’re playing in London! I got my money ready for it!
Arkisma: May be a while, but playing in Europe would be surreal!

3.47: Would you say making your own tracks is easier than a remix or just as hard?
Arkisma: It definitely is easier to start out with a basic chord structure than starting from scratch. I love making originals and remixes, but both have their upsides. Remixes challenge me to create something creative off of another producer’s style, while originals give me complete freedom.

3.47: Yeah it’s true! What track would you like to remix next?
Arkisma: I try to space it out so that I do originals between my remixes, so I may try to do a remix contest after a few more originals.

3.47: What do you do in your spare time?
Arkisma: Producing, Sailing, and then more Producing.

3.47: Sailing? Wow now that’s different to hear! You been doing it for long?
Arkisma: Yeah, been sailing competitively all my life. I love the water.

3.47: Given the chance who would you love to work with?
Arkisma: I think working with someone like MitiS, Skrux, T-Mass, The Eden Project or Seven Lions would be my dream collab. For vocals, definitely Laura Brehm or Ellie Goulding.

3.47: That’s a big list and I hope you get to work with them! As I always say don’t stop dreaming because when you do, it will all go away! What would you say are the advantage/disadvantage of been independent?
Arkisma: I would much rather sign to single release and EP release labels than sign a contract to a big label now in my career. I think experimenting with and having the freedom of different labels is the best to grow fans from a wide assortment of audiences.

3.47: Yeah I think that’s it in full really. You got sites like SoundCloud and YouTube which get you so much exposure which is awesome I think! What’s your favourite song at the moment?
Arkisma: Hard decision between “Chase & Status – End Credits ft. Plan B”, “Röyksopp – Running To The Sea ft. Susanne Sundfør (Seven Lions Remix)” and “MitiS & MaHi – Blu”

3.47: Some damn good choices I ain’t gonna lie! What can we expect from you in the future?
Arkisma: Definitely more powerful Melodic Dubstep, Melodic Electro, DnB, and Maybe some chillout piano experiment stuff. I’m looking forward to releasing an EP sometime soon.

3.47: Can’t wait to see your new EP dropping! You got a date for it yet?
Arkisma: I have a few almost finished songs (Dubstep and Midtempo) that I’m going to finish and hopefully release in the next few months.

3.47: Do you have any other hidden talents?
Arkisma: Don’t know if it’s a talent, but I have opposable thumbs…

3.47: It’s different! I’ll allow it! If you had the power to run your own label, what would you call it?
Arkisma: Probably “Unition Records” because Unition was the first song I released on a record label. Hopefully that can happen sometime in the future!

3.47: Yeah that makes sense! Me personally I’ll have really good memories of the track itself! What’s the best advice you been given?
Arkisma: Never give up on a song you start, no matter how much you begin to dislike it. The only way to get better is to finish songs and move on to bigger and better projects!

3.47: Good point! We may not like it but then others out there might feel different about it! What advice can you give to people out there?
Arkisma: Experiment. Re-sample. Try different things so that you are always improving and never getting bored!

3.47: That’s great advice and hopefully future producers will take it on board! Given the chance to run YouTube what you change about it?
Arkisma: Improve the comments section. Its so messy with the 2014 update, and the spam gets ridiculous.

3.47: Your not alone trust me, everyone so far wants it back to the old style they had it! Final question! Anything you want to say to your fans out there?
Arkisma: Thanks so much for listening to my music! You guys are the greatest! 😀

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Arkisma for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Arkisma Links
SoundCloud
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
Google+

Leave a Reply

