Leave a comment

Interview: Emforay

My guest today is none other than Emforay! Emforay has made hits such as No Signal (video above), Doomsday and Arcade Monster to name but a few! Emforay was kind enough to give up some free time to do this interview!

3.47: How did the name come about?
Emforay: There was just this one time where I wrote down the file extension “M4A”, said it out loud, and was like “wow, that sounds kinda cool if it were a whole word!” And then I figured I’d spell it out as Emforay and make it my alias. It works too, because it’s a music file extension!

3.47: When I sound it out now I see it clear as day! Clever I like it! How long have you been making music for?
Emforay: I’ve been producing music since March or so of 2011, so just above 3 years now. I have always loved to sing though all my life, only recreationally though. I had written some songs a year or two before 2011, and one of them I even produced.

3.47: Do you prefer sing on your tracks or do you pick and choose a song someone else has made?
Emforay: I sing on my own tracks because I typically like writing my own lyrics.

3.47: Was this something you always wanted to do?
Emforay: Not really. I always love creating things in general, and seeing my ideas come to life, but I never really put music realistically into that picture until I decided I wanted to try it, and then I did.

3.47: Your not alone with that! A lot of the artists I spoken to never thought about making music themselves and yet here they are making these awesome hits such as yourself! What was your reaction like when you saw the feedback coming in about your music?
Emforay: Feedback didn’t come until a while, and it came because I had reached out to a certain large fanbase. I was raving to myself and my family about gaining 20 subscribers on YouTube in one day, and it was the coolest thing.

3.47: You must of been jumping with joy! So your family and friends had a lot of support for your music then from the start! Would you like to play live at some point?
Emforay: It’s probably disappointing for people who want it, but I’ve never really seen the appeal in playing live. That’s probably because I’ve never been to an EDM concert or really any concerts… But I’m willing to give it a try if the opportunity hands itself to me.

3.47: Like you said given the chance it may change your mind on it! When its over you might think wow that was awesome! From experience is making your own tracks easier than a remix or just as hard?
Emforay: Remixes are a special thing for me, because in order to remix something properly, I need serious motivation. I will only get that serious motivation if I am currently addicted to the song. I make a lot of song recreations, and I do that to get songs out of my head and see if I can match their standards. Often if a song has a lot of potential, but isn’t quite what I personally like, I’ll throw my own spin on it so I can listen to it and enjoy it more. In the end though, original songs are much easier for me to make when I look at it as a whole.

3.47: That’s a interesting way of putting it about making a remix! Its great to know that you can change a song you didn’t like into one you enjoy more! Sometimes it can be the lyrics we like but the beat might be a little off putting! What do you do in your spare time?
Emforay: In my spare time I like to make music a lot, of course. I don’t quite play as much video games as I used to, but I do love making other sort of things virtually, such as video game mods, level design, etc. I also currently work on a Minecraft server, so that has been taking up a LOT of my time. Else, I watch YouTube commentators for a lot of good laughs.

3.47: Another person who likes Minecraft! I really should give the game another go! How is the server looking now and is it a private one or can anyone join?
Emforay: Heh, server is pretty new, although I had owned one a few years back. I run this one with Arcien and Varia. The IP is moscraft.beastmc.com if anyone wants to join lol. Probably won’t be up too much longer anyway unless we get a good amount of daily players.

3.47: Given the chance who would you love to work with?
Emforay: To be honest I don’t work very well in collabs, but I’ve been trying them out more. There are a lot of higher-up artists I’d love to work with if I got the chance, but I can’t really put a finger on any specific one.

3.47: Are you allowed to say who you been working with of late?
Emforay: I am almost finished with a song with Arcien and Varia, although it is going on my future album so it won’t see the light of day for a while. Other than that, shhh :3

3.47: What would you say are the advantage/disadvantage of been independent?
Emforay: Being independent is cool because you get to work on your own terms. I’ve never been under a label at this point, so I guess I don’t completely know what it’s like. Having a label would be nice though for several reasons; labels give a bit more exposure, the system is more organized, and you can reach out to many different sites, like Beatport.

3.47: True and I think with how everything is now a lot of the independent artist are happier been this way than signed up. What’s your favourite song at the moment?
Emforay: I don’t really have favourite songs. At least not right now. I suppose if I had to choose one though, it would be Virtual Riot ft Varia – Edge. Something about that track and the way VR works all his synths together is amazing, and it’s one of those tracks I always use to test new equipment because of it’s overall ideal sound. Virtual Riot is one of my favourite producers out there.

3.47: I gotta admit his done some amazing remixes that are mind blowing! Given the chance would you like to work with him?
Emforay: Shhhh :3

3.47: What can we expect from you in the future?
Emforay: I don’t even know what to expect from me. I always love to try different genres and sounds, and I’m currently trying to get out of that “wub a dub” train, as much as I love dubstep music. I would love to be able to make up my own form of EDM, with all my favourite elements of dubstep, D&B, house, ambient, orchestral, and glitch music. I am currently aiming for that sound in my upcoming album.

3.47: That sounds awesome! I think it’s important to have a variety of different genres so you can make it your own sound! How is that going so far? Has it been a bit of a battle getting it done?
Emforay: I’m actually having a lot of fun. It’s flowing pretty nicely right now.

3.47: Stick with it I say. The truth of the matter is we give up sometimes on things that we can improve on. I’ll admit my drawings are not even good but I’m still trying my hand on trying to make them better! Do you have any other hidden talents?
Emforay: I am pretty okay at drawing I guess, but not anywhere near as good as some people way younger than me. I can manage to muster up some okay digital graphics though, (I do my own artwork, and later realize how dumb it looks). I like voice acting and using my voice generally for interesting things. Most things I’m good at, I can never finish a project in. Music is the only exception to that.

3.47: If you had the power to run your own label, what would you call it?
Emforay: Names are always something I have to think long and hard about, which is never really the way it should be done, but I HAVE always wanted to run my own label. I would probably pick a two word name that’s simple enough and somehow related to audio. How about “lol its music Records”?

3.47: Hey if its not taken I say claim it! What’s the best advice you been given?
Emforay: The best advice I have ever gotten is never to let your listeners dictate what your music sounds like. Assuming you’re an actual artist and not just a sellout, you’re making music because it’s what YOU want to hear. Criticism here and there is okay.

3.47: Very good point and again this is why a lot of artist prefer to be independent due to them losing creative directions being signed to a big label. When it becomes something like that it takes away the magic you once created and then you get bored of making it. What advice can you give to people who want to be like yourself?
Emforay: Refer to the last question. If other people don’t like your music, tough. That’s who you are. Keep doing what you love and don’t get pushed over by the people who claim to support you. Another thing, for people going into dubstep production with no previous musical background, I would suggest trying more genres based around melodies, chords, and bassline progression first. Once you think you can make something catchy, then maybe it’s time to move on to hard wubs, because you will understand composition and production better.

3.47: Would you say it’s something you learnt from experience yourself when making dubstep?
Emforay: I’ve mostly noticed other new artists struggle in this area. When I made my first dubstep song, (which was around 6 months in,) the sounds I used corresponded to the melody and in turn sounded better than if I had just placed some random notes hoping it would sound good. For new producers, I would suggest testing out different chords as much as possible. It will give you a great understanding of melodic progression and why things sound good like they do.

3.47: Given the chance to run YouTube what would you change about it?
Emforay: Oh boy. If I ran YouTube I would completely remove that stupid Google+ thing, revert all layouts to their receptive peak, and never change anything unless the majority of users want it. That’s how YouTube SHOULD be run.

3.47: I was speaking to someone who owns a YouTube channel and he had this amazing idea of having smaller channels getting more exposure which I think is needed as well! But yeah lots of people want Google+ gone still! Hopefully it will happen but never can tell! Final question! Anything you want to say to your fans out there?
Emforay: I love everyone who supports me and listens to my music! Thanks especially to those who buy my music, and even more thanks to those who pay extra! You are all the best and I wouldn’t have quite as much motivation if you weren’t here. You really make my life so much better.

3.47: That’s awesome man! Ladies and gentlemen, let’s hear it for Emforay! Thank you for your time!
Emforay: Thanks for the interview!

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Emforay for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Emforay Links
SoundCloud
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube

Leave a Reply

