Leave a comment

Interview: Mythic Creature Music

My guest today is none other than the mastermind behind Mythic Creature Music! He blew up the scene with tracks such as Sweet Dreams, Ruthless and the latest track, Scintillate (video above)! But who is this person? I was given the chance to give you this world exclusive interview to find out more!

3.47: How did the name come about?
Mythic Creature Music: The name Mythic Creature was made because I had all the hats that looked like creatures, and I use to play Halo a lot. I wanted an original name for myself, and that is what came second to my mind. The one that came first in my head was Mystic Creature, but I didn’t like that too much haha.

3.47: Man I love Halo but I gotta be honest … Number 4 felt completely different! I’m wondering what’s gonna happen in 5 now!
MCM: I know! 4 wasn’t really hyped up enough for me, but I don’t have a Xbox One to get 5 though.

3.47: How long have you been making music for?
MCM: I have been making music since Freshman year of High School, and I am a Senior in High School. It would be around 3 or 3 and half years of making music.

3.47: Quite a while then!
MCM: Yeah, lots of practice was made during those times

3.47: Was this something you always wanted to do?
MCM: I never thought I would actually be what I am right now. I thought that I would do this for a thing when I get bored. I said that Freshman year.

3.47: What was you planning to be back then?
MCM: Back then, I did what every Asian mom wanted their kids to be… Doctors. I don’t want to pull a race thing, but I literally wanted to be a regular doctor for patients.

3.47: What was your reaction like when you saw the feedback coming in about your music?
MCM: When I see feedback coming in about my music, it always make me happy that someone acknowledges me for something I enjoy doing. It always bring a smile on my face to see someone commenting good things about the songs. It makes me feel that I am doing something right.

3.47: Like I say all feedback is good because we can take it on board to see what we can learn!
MCM: Feedback is appreciated anywhere haha

3.47: Would you like to play live at some point?
MCM: Hopefully I would play live one day. It has been my dream to perform with a big audience. I started DJing Freshman year just to have a feel, but lately I have been producing more then DJing. I know how to DJ, but I haven’t done it for months.

3.47: Either way at least you’re making progress and when you do go back to DJing you got your own tracks to put in the mix!
MCM: I make mixes, but I have never done one with my songs before. Maybe when I need some influences, I can DJ a mix or something haha.

3.47: From experience is making your own tracks easier than a remix or just as hard?
MCM: From my experience, making a remix is easier than making an original because the remix supplies me with stems, which are the elements used in the original song. With these stems, I can make new melodies, and the structure song the song like the way I thought of it in my head. Making a original track takes more time because you would have to think of which chords would be right, and how to structure the songs with the melodies and all that jazz.

3.47: I gotta ask how do you go about making a remix at the start?
MCM: For remixes, I start of with chords, just like making an original song, then I just create melodies in my head that will fit with the chords. Or I play a random melody on the piano that matches with the chords. It all just matters if you can imagine the melodies.

3.47: What do you do in your spare time?
MCM: In my free time, I like to make music (laughs). Music has taken over my life completely. Every weekend, I rarely come outside to kick it with my friends because I’m always planning new tracks or remixes. But other than music, and when I go to college next year, I would probably go snowboarding whenever I get the chance.

3.47: Snowboarding sounds awesome! I say yeah go for it give yourself a bit of a break because you don’t want to make yourself tired! That or making music feel like a pain to do!
MCM: When making music, breaks should be taken every hour or so. They are needed when it comes to making music

3.47: Given the chance who would you love to work with?
MCM: If I would like to work with anyone, it would probably be Rezonate and Hellberg. They are both Monstercat artists, and their music has inspired me to do Dubstep and House.

3.47: Are you looking to be part of the Monstercat family?
MCM: I don’t know if I can yet. I’m going to have to be more social on the social media, and get better at mixing and mastering my tracks. I have a long ways still haha. Maybe more people interacting with me will help me become a member. Lol we will never know 😛

3.47: What would you say are the advantage/disadvantage of been independent?
MCM: The advantage of being an independent artist would be that I can work on my own schedule and no one else’s, and I can make music more freely then being restrained by someone. The disadvantage of being independent would be that I would have to promote myself rather than hiring someone because “I ain’t got no monies” haha. When promoting myself… I suck a lot. I know how to do it, but I’m just so darn lazy to do it. Once in a while, I would try, but my emails will probably not get to the person I want to promote me since there are thousands of artists out there just like me trying to do the same thing.

3.47: True and at least when it comes to you doing it yourself it’s more of a personal touch. Like you said it does has it’s good and bad points!
MCM: Yeah, the stuff I have to go through lol

3.47: What’s your favourite song at the moment?
MCM: My favourite song at the moment would be the latest Seven Lions EP. That EP is soo dope! I can’t get enough of it. I play it almost every day. When I wake up, drive to school, at school, drive home, homework, and sleep. The songs are on a repeat. That’s for the mainstream side of EDM. For the underground, I keep listening to Arizon – Forever. It is a really awesome Electro House track, that I listen on repeat as well.

3.47: Mother of God people must know when you come by then because you must be blasting it out them speakers! (Laughs)
MCM: Yeah, I jam my music when I drive! My whole school loves Hip Hop, and most of them dislike EDM, so since I am not a fan of the people of my school, I troll the heck out of them trololol

3.47: What can we expect from you in the future?
MCM: What you can expect from me in the future is a lot of tracks with all types of genres because I am trying all of them out. But that is all going to be during the summer. When I move out my state, and go to college at the University, I would be releasing music very slowly because I’m trying to go to school to become a Dentist. So music will be very slow during that time, but I hope that everyone will stay with me during those times.

3.47: A dentist? Now that is different! You never knew people might be playing your tracks while your performing on a patient and you be having this grin on your face saying “That’s all me!”
MCM: Yeah! While I am working on my patient, they would hear crazy Dubstep while I am drilling their teeth out. Next thing they will know, the drill I would be using would be the Dubstep.

3.47: Do you have any other hidden talents?
MCM: The other talent I have would be snowboarding, airsofting/ paintballing, golfing, swimming, beat boxing, and gardening (laughs). I don’t have time with most of them because of the weather and/or tight on money. But if those issues get out of the way, I would do all of them.

3.47: Damn man you’re got so much to fall back on! You’ll have no trouble running out of work! I was reading the list and thinking this man is the human Swiss army knife!
MCM: I always have to prepare myself for the future. Like Armin Van Buuren, he came out of law school, and became a famous DJ. I want to be just like that. Come out of Dental School, and work more on music since I have something to fall back on.

3.47: If you had the power to run your own label, what would you call it?
MCM: If I can run my own label, I would call it Chance Foundation. It sounds pretty lame, but the name is to tell a story. I would probably make this label just to get every upcoming producer a chance to get notice faster. If a pretty big artist send over a song over to me, I would probably turn it down because I would want the lesser known people get recognition first. It would give every small artist a “chance.”

3.47: Sounds exactly like what I’m doing right now! I’m giving exposure to the artists who are not very well known and giving them their chance to shine! I hope that in some way it does happen!
MCM: Helping others is great because I am just like them, and I want to be popular for my music. Everyone wants to be popular for something they do.

3.47: What’s the best advice you been given?
MCM: The best advice I was given was that, “Don’t expect to be good right when you start. There will be a time where something good is going to happen to you, but it ain’t any time soon. Work hard to make the time become shortened, so that you can experience of greatness sooner.”

3.47: True enough! Like I was always told, don’t run before you can walk!
MCM: Practice makes perfect!

3.47: What advice can you give to people who want to be like yourself?
MCM: The advice I would give to others trying to do what I am doing would be to try really hard and practice to become better at it. This advice maybe something you know and get told to do all the time, but it actually works. Also take your time with things. If you don’t know ask, and if there is no one to ask. Google it lol

3.47: I gotta be honest the amount of times I hear people to say to me oh Google it! I’m surprised Google hasn’t made it their catchphrase!
MCM: Google has everything. Unless people decide to use Bing haha. But doing these searches should be last thing you do because human interaction is easier to learn since you can ask questions.

3.47: Given the chance to run YouTube what would you change about it?
MCM: If I had a chance to run Youtube, I would fix the problem of the mobile device because Youtube on my phone is crud, and I would make the recommend section better than just showing super famous Youtubers. Instead I would replace that with upcoming Youtubers in that category.

3.47: Very good points! Even when I’m on the mobile version and get told all the time sorry this video cannot be shown on mobile devices! But yeah I agree it should come out with better suggestions than people who are celebrities.
MCM: Mobile for me sucks a lot (laughs)! Also smaller Youtubers should have a chance too!

3.47: Final question! Anything you want to say to your fans out there?
MCM: If their is anything I have to say to the fans, I would say “Thank You Very Much!!” You guys changed my life completely, in a good way. Please stay with me through my absence and my returns. It will be hard, but I promise you the music I will give out will be great! To those who said my music helps them through their troubles, I want to say you guys also help me through my problems. Your positive comments has given me the passion to continue to keep making music. So Thank YOU!

3.47: Ladies and gentlemen let’s hear it for Mythic Creature Music! And dude stay hard working on the music! It’s awesome!
MCM: Thank you, thank you very much! If any fan wants to talk to me, all you have to do is send a message, so don’t be shy 😉 (laughs)!

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Mythic Creature Music for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Mythic Creature Music Links
SoundCloud
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
Google+

Leave a Reply

