2 Comments

Interview: Hebona

My guest today is the awesome Hebona! He has made tracks such as Oculus (video above), Twilight in Dreamland and Lost at sea to name but a few! But where does the name come from? And what was the best advice he was given? I was given the chance to interview him to find out the answers!

3.47: How did the name come about?
Hebona: My name actually comes from a video game that I’ve played for many years. I have a lot of friends that I met while playing, and they really shaped me into who I am today… Without them, I’m not really sure where I would be today. I wanted my name to represent something important to me, and to remind me of where everything started; thus I chose Hebona. The word originates from Shakespeare’s play “Hamlet”, where it is a poison administered through the ear by Claudius to kill the Late King. A fan told me it also means “Love Us” in arabic, although I have not checked that.

3.47: It’s been a long time since I read Hamlet but wow that’s pretty cool to hear! How long have you been making music for?
Hebona: I’ve been making music for about a year and a half now. I got FL Studio on my 15th birthday, but didn’t really make anything of decent quality until November of that year.

3.47: That’s fair enough! I think everyone just messes around with it at first just to get to grips with it! Was this something you always wanted to do?
Hebona: Absolutely. Ever since I was little I always imagined what it would be like to create something that other people would find emotion in.

3.47: Yeah and I think your track does create this emotional feel in them that stands out! What was your reaction like when you saw the feedback coming in about your music?
Hebona: There aren’t enough words to describe how I felt! Overwhelmed, ecstatic, etc. However, the emotion that really sticks out in my mind is pride. It’s really difficult being a high school musician when you make a style of music that most people don’t really recognize nor completely understand. Once I started getting views in the thousands, followers sending their support, and features on YouTube pages, people started to take me a little more seriously.

3.47: I gotta admit it’s sad hearing that. Like you said in high school a lot of people would follow more mainstream music. Nothing wrong with it but, then some of them just had this whole feeling where they don’t show enough love to someone who is up and coming! Would you like to play live at some point?
Hebona: It would be interesting, however most of my songs aren’t suited for a live-performance setting. I don’t see it happening in the near future, but I would really like to try it.

3.47: Never know, you might be walking down the street and someone is playing your track on full blast in the car! From experience is making your own tracks easier than a remix or just as hard?
Hebona: Both can be equally as challenging. Remixes present different obstacles that original songs do, and vice-versa. Originals can be very hard to create depending on the day, genre, etc. Remixes have stems and certain guidelines you might have to follow, however getting everything to sound right can be difficult. Personally, I find remixes to be more difficult than originals, just because I always have ideas running through my head.

3.47: I was going to ask if some of your original tracks were born due to a remix! What do you do in your spare time?
Hebona: Mostly work and play video games (when I’m not producing, which takes up most of my spare time).

3.47: What’s your favourite video game right now?
Hebona: Mabinogi is the game I play the most, but my favourite game of all-time would have to be Fragile Dreams: Farewell Ruins of the Moon

3.47: Given the chance who would you love to work with?
Hebona: Working with Blackmill would be absolutely incredible, as well as Mr. Fijiwiji. I’ve idolized both of them for a long time, and having the opportunity to work with either of them would be an honour. Working on Chillwave with Patchley would be crazy too.

3.47: Its great to see Blackmill has come back in a way! I was always hoping he would reappear and now he has! What would you say are the advantage/disadvantage of been independent?
Hebona: Advantages: No bandmates to argue with, the music is entirely my vision, productions revolve around my schedule. Disadvantages: No constant second opinion, lonely, no splitting of the workload.

3.47: Again it’s sad to hear because I thought you had someone who are musical artist to bounce off once in a while. What’s your favourite song at the moment?
Hebona: Oh man, I’ve never been good at having just one favourite song. My top five songs right now would probably have to be: Patchley – Yearning, // Y E Λ R S // – すてきな, FRXXMASONS – Tongux Passion, Starlit Everglades – Psalms of Planets, James Deen – Waterworld (Patchley Remix).

3.47: Its better than none but you picked some killer tracks right there! What can we expect from you in the future?
Hebona: LOTS of collabs. Also branching off into new genres (Chillwave, Ambient, etc). Chillstep will still be my primary focus, however.

3.47: Can you give us a hint of who you’re working with next?
Hebona: I’m currently in the works with Resonata, and a collab with Lovers may be happening in the near future.

3.47: Do you have any other hidden talents?
Hebona: None come to mind, unless being naturally good at games counts.

3.47: Yeah that counts! If you had the power to run your own label, what would you call it?
Hebona: Abaddon Records, another name that is very important to me.

3.47: Is it okay to ask why?
Hebona: It’s the name of a skype group that I’ve been in for about the last 5/6 years, and some of the most important people in my life are a part of it

3.47: What’s the best advice you been given?
Hebona: I was at work one day, and I was completely miserable. I don’t remember why I was in such a slump, but everything just seemed hopeless at the time. This old man came through my till and we went through the usual, exchanging greetings and whatnot. We got to talking about random things as I bagged his order, but he could somewhat tell that I wasn’t doing so well. After he paid, I gave a smile and said “Have a nice day”. As I said that, he turned to face me, and with the most caring look in his eyes he said; “Son, every day is a good day, so long as you wake up. When you get to be my age, you never know when you’ll see your last sunset…”. I’ll never forget that.

3.47: Wow now that is powerful! How much of us actually take the time out and give sound advice nowadays? It’s like I said before, we all wear a mask to protect ourselves but when the mask finally comes off and we reveal how we truly feel, it changes peoples views on us. What advice can you give to people who want to be like yourself?
Hebona: Put as much time as possible into music. The most important thing is to be yourself, honestly. Make music that you are proud of and eventually people will take notice.

3.47: That’s great advice and I hope it does get picked up on! Given the chance to run YouTube what would you change about it?
Hebona: I don’t think I’d change anything to be honest. YouTube as a platform works very well for promoters, and I don’t think anything could be changed to improve it.

3.47: Its rare to hear someone say that because a lot of the people I asked, said they would get rid of Google+ or they would want the mobile version to run all videos like you can on the desktop version! Final question! Anything you want to say to your fans out there?
Hebona: Thank you so much for following me on this journey. Without you, I would honestly be nothing. ❤

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Hebona for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Hebona Links
SoundCloud
Facebook
YouTube
Google+

2 comments on “Interview: Hebona

  1. Hebona is going to take his style to new levels where a live setting will come to him. He will bring the feeling behind the music to the public eye.

    Like

Leave a Reply

