Leave a comment

Interview: Nightcall

My guest today is the talented artist, Nightcall! Nightcall has made tracks such as Dead V with vocals from Dreamhour, Hymn and Unknown. I was given the opportunity to interview the talented 15 year old to find out more about him!

3.47: How did the name come about?
Nightcall: As I produce late evenings I sometimes look out the window just to see the pitch black forest outside. That got me thinking and as I was in need for a name, I thought “Nightcall” sounded cool because for me it kinda represents the events in the nature at night, especially from the wolves at the evenings where they howl to each other, hence “Night Call”.

3.47: I gotta say when I first heard the name, it sounds like it is full of mystery and I was thinking maybe he is a Batman fan! I like how you came up with the name! Really awesome! How long have you been making music for?
Nightcall: I’ve been making music for about 1 1/2 year.

3.47: So not too long then! I’m guessing like everyone else you’re using FL Studio?
Nightcall: I actually use Ableton Live! I’ve tried out several DAW’s (Digital Audio Workstation) including FL Studio. I quite like the versatility of Ableton and I really loved their built in instruments which I almost use in every track I’ve made so that’s why it got chosen. But for all the beginners, do keep in mind that the best DAW is the one that fits your work style best, so test out several DAWs!

3.47: Was this something you always wanted to do?
Nightcall: Yes music has always been in my thoughts since childhood, especially music production and performances. I’ve always been very interested in making music and especially electronic music. My dad used to play (he still does) electronic tracks in his car, which got me very interested in the early stages.

3.47: Your dad sounds like a cool guy! Does he give you a bit of advice when making tracks?
Nightcall: No, nothing music-wise. That’s my part, (Laughs). But he has always been very supportive with my music and always been very interested on what’s happening with it.

3.47: Nothing better than that! I say it to every person I interviewed, each track I hear has a certain “feel” about them and when you can have that in a track, nothing else can beat that! What was your reaction like when you saw the feedback coming in about your music?
Nightcall: Feedback and comments always puts a big smile on my face. It’s really fun to see people comment certain feelings they get from a track of mine, because those certain emotions is what I’m trying to get on the track. Getting those comments kinda “confirms” that I’ve succeed with that.

3.47: Would you like to play live at some point?
Nightcall: I would love to play my tracks live, weather it’s on a festival or in a club, I’m all in, (Laughs) 🙂

3.47: I hope it does happen for you dude! Be great to hear you come back with you telling me how it all went!
Nightcall: I will certainly 🙂

3.47: From experience is making your own tracks easier than a remix or just as hard?
Nightcall: When you make a remix you have to follow a certain path to work from, which will restrict some of your ideas and work style. If it’s a vocal you always have to work around the vocal, you have to work around the key and tempo most of the time. I would say that making an original is much easier to work with.

3.47: Have you yourself come across that as a major problem when you’re making a remix with vocals? For example you want a sound to go in but due to the vocals it doesn’t match up?
Nightcall: It’s never been a major problem but it’s been like a obstacle to not put exactly what I want into it. But once I get over that threshold new ideas appear and creativity starts bouncing!

3.47 What do you do in your spare time?
Nightcall: My spare time is listening, playing and creating music, but apart from that I play video games and chat with other producers.

3.47: As a gamer myself I have to ask, what’s your favourite game right now?
Nightcall: For a single player game I would definitely say Telltale Games: The Walking Dead. What I love most about the game is the unique game play and storyline. Most of the things you do in the game affects the storyline and that’s very cool. I also love the graphics, they’ve blended comic book art with modern graphics which I think is very unique.

3.47: What do you think of the next gen consoles?
Nightcall: To be honest I’ve not been so alerted about the next gen consoles, so I can’t say much there unfortunately.

3.47: Some very big names up there! I hope you get to fulfil your dream to be able to work with them! Given the chance who would you love to work with?
Nightcall: Hmm…. if I had the chance to work with any vocalist I would defiantly choose Skylar Grey or Benjamin Burnley from Breaking Benjamin. If I got the shot to work with any producer it would be Starsmith, Porter Robinson or Seven Lions.

3.47: Very good points and I can’t speak for everyone else but myself with this. Sometimes I just can’t listen to mainstream music at times because it doesn’t have the same vibe that I need from independents like yourself! Going back to my point again about the … “feel” for each track! What would you say are the advantage/disadvantage of been independent?
Nightcall: Being independent really gives you space and time to produce whatever you feel like. No what so ever restrictions and no release dates. You can have you own vision. But it really all depends if you’re signed to a major label or with an indie label. Being dependent of a major label would give you more publicity and spread the word a bit more than being independent.

3.47: What’s your favourite song at the moment?
Nightcall: My favourite song at the moment would be Porter Robinson ft Urban Cone – Lionhearted. It’s such an amazing track with really nice vocals from the Swedish band Urban Cone.

3.47: Never heard that one but will give it a listen tonight! What can we expect from you in the future?
Nightcall: I’m actually producing an EP to be released somewhere around autumn and hopefully get on all the major online music stores. The EP will be called “V” after “Dead V” and will feature 4 tracks. I can tell you about all of them:
“Dead V” is a very powerful and heavy track with excellent vocals from my friend Dreamhour.
“Disappear” is a very powerful and uplifting track. It has a slow BPM and will surprise you at some parts. I’m also thinking to have female vocals on this one.
“Nightingale” is a very dark track and will feature roots from my very early stages of my older pieces, which is very dark.
“The Ghosts” will be a epic track. Enough said, (Laughs) 🙂

3.47: Oh man now you made me hungry and wanting to have a taste of it! Any more collabs happening later maybe?
Nightcall: I’ve got a collab going on with a producer and I also contacted a female vocalist for the vocals for “Disappear”!

3.47: Do you have any other hidden talents?
Nightcall: Hmm… I DJ quite a lot and I’ve been thinking of in-cooperating a piano into my sets, to make it all a bit more alive.

3.47: Sure why not! To be honest I think nothing can be better than having the physical item because like you said it will make it a bit more alive! If you had the power to run your own label, what would you call it?
Nightcall: I’ve actually been thinking a lot of running an independent label called “DAWN RECORDS”, which will release new-thinking concepts of music, hence “dawn” which kinda means uprising.

3.47: Damn that sounds good! Waking up at the crack of dawn with amazing sounds playing! What’s the best advice you been given?
Nightcall: Loudness<Dynamics

3.47: Sounds like a story behind that! Is it one you can share with us?
Nightcall: There’s a final process to a track where you have to put final touches and make it ready for a public release, and that’s called mastering. One part of this “mastering” is that you have to set the overall volume to a certain point where it becomes comfortable to the listener. People tend to raise this volume to an excessive point where all sounds and instruments sounds is pressed together into one “sausage”. Why people tend to do this to an excessive point is because of the commercial benefits of it. It looks good on the paper but can sound very irritating after a while. By reducing this “loudness” you get a move breathing track with low peaks and high peaks, which automatically give it an overall natural feel. I’ve learned this trough the hard way.

3.47: What advice can you give to people who want to be like yourself?
Nightcall: Just be yourself and produce whatever the you want to. Take inspiration from pictures, movies, soundtracks, others music but always keep in mind to convert that inspiration into your own thing.

3.47: Very good point! I think that helps a lot when you get writer’s/producers block, you can look elsewhere to help you back on track! Given the chance to run YouTube what would you change about it?
Nightcall: If I had the chance I would change the channel layout completely. What I would do is to give users the possibility to customize the whole channel by giving certain windows and boxes the ability to move around and put them anywhere. And giving the user more space to add more design and show more of their customization!

3.47: That sounds pretty damn awesome! I gotta admit I had the image of someone using a Kinect on the 360 while doing that! Final question! Anything you want to say to your fans out there?
Nightcall: Thanks for all the support and all the kind response on my music, I really appreciate it. Stay tuned on my Facebook page for more updates on the EP and I will soon upload one of the tracks of the EP as a teaser 🙂

3.47: Awesome! Ladies and gentlemen let’s hear it for our guest Nightcall! Thank you for doing this interview!
Nightcall: No problem, thanks for contacting me and it was really fun to answer the questions, cheers!

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Nightcall for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Nightcall links
SoundCloud
Facebook
YouTube
Google+

Leave a Reply

