Leave a comment

Interview: J’lectroniq

My guest today is none other than J’lectroniq! He has made hits such as Luminous Lullaby, Heartbeats and Transient (video above!) He’s latest EP If love isn’t enough is out today and you can get a copy via his Bandcamp link! J’lectroniq was kind enough to give up some free time to do this interview!

3.47: How did the name come about?
J’lectroniq: When I started making music I was focussing on me as a (Dutch) rapper, my artist name was at that time ‘J’. Later on I played more as a DJ on some local parties, I wanted to separate those two things in the first place (I stopped with the rapping part). So I came up with J’lectroniq (pronounce: Jay-lec-tronic), because I was playing mostly electronical tracks in my DJ sets. The ‘lectroniq’ part is based on the fact that I came to France since I was young, this in combination with the idea to have relatively ‘unique’ name (really most people still pronounce it in some strange French way) is how the name came about

3.47: Do you still have to correct people when they say your name? Would you go back to rapping at some point in life?
J’lectroniq: Yeah sometimes I have to correct them, but if they pronounce my name good I’m also willing to say that they pronounce it good. I don’t think I’m going back to rapping, maybe only for friends in the studio (you know just for fun) or if people specifically would ask me to.

3.47: How long have you been making music for?
J’lectroniq: I’ve been making music since I was 13 years old (started with guitar), but I became more serious about it back in 2009 while I was living a year in Amsterdam. Back in my current home town (Groningen) I decided to put out a long term project: ‘The Tales of a Dreamer’ series. The first record (of this project) that I released was in March 2011, entitled:’So Far So Gone.’

3.47: Can we get a hold of ‘So Far So Gone’? Do you still play the guitar now?
J’lectroniq: Yeah sure! I sometimes play the guitar just for myself, or to sample some strange sound from it.

3.47: Was this something you always wanted to do?
J’lectroniq: I don’t know if this is or was the thing that I always wanted to do, what I do know is that I always wanted to do something creative whether that would be something like: design, film or music. And in case we would see I like that, then this is probably one of the things I always wanted to do.

3.47: I’m glad to hear you’re able to do it with music because it does have a nice feeling with your tracks! What was your reaction like when you saw the feedback coming in about your music?
J’lectroniq: I actually analyse much of the feedback that came in, so I try to put every different form of feedback in it’s context. Because a professional (like a journalist) for instance has a way different background then an average listener. And of course I always like to hear nice things though from my audience, they are important because what is art without an audience?

3.47: Good point and as I always say any feedback is good so we can see where to improve! Would you like to play live at some point?
J’lectroniq: I actually play already live since a year with my team (known as LVRE GANG), it’s a combination of a live set and two musicians (bluesharp and guitar): a. and b. Playing with the band started last year (in September), when I did this Dutch talent programme tour called ‘Popronde’. They asked me to deliver more on stage, so I build my live set and asked my guitar player to join me, later on the bluesharp came along (born out of need, when my guitar player couldn’t play a few shows with me). Playing live is really nice, because we basically just reinterpret all of my songs making it live an eclectic layered sound. Besides this the different reactions from different audiences is also fun, because you finally see a what your audience is like in real life. So the whole touring experience is wonderful, getting to know more people, different cities, different backgrounds etc.

3.47: From experience is making your own tracks easier than a remix or just as hard?
J’lectroniq: I think making your own music is actually way harder than making a remix. Because a remix is based on a track that is already out there (that’s why it is a remix). Besides this, I think there are actually to many young kids out there who are doing the same trick over and over again, by making all these types of remixes. You know building hypes.. But what is a hype when everybody does it? So my advice would be to come up with your own stuff, because I know they can make good music.

3.47: Its true we do have a few people who are just in it to make money without the thought of making good music!  If you ask me its a ongoing problem that is in every part of the industry. What do you do in your spare time?
J’lectroniq: Reading newspapers, books, articles, watching documentaries, playing games, hanging out with friends, go for a run or just chill. Most of the times I am getting actually much more ideas when I’m having my spare time.

3.47: What’s your favourite video game at the moment?
J’lectroniq: One of my favourite games is the ‘Fifa’ series.

3.47: Given the chance who would you love to work with?
J’lectroniq: Jay Z, because of his vision towards music and thinking in concepts and products (like Kanye would say: That shit crazy!). Bonobo, I actually want to know more about him getting his sound together and how he put’s that out live on stage in combination with his musicians.

3.47: Jay Z is a beast! I’m glad his still making music! I remember his tracks like lobsters and shrimps with Timbaland from back in the day! What would you say are the advantage/disadvantage of been independent?
J’lectroniq: The advantage of being independent is that I can do what I want and when I want it. The disadvantage is that it looks quite strange when you have to plug yourself at music blogs/magazines/radios etc. and your budget to work with is ways smaller (on the positive side, this is making you also more creative).

3.47: Good point! Great to hear you still let your creative side still shine! What’s your favourite song at the moment?
J’lectroniq: I actually have two: Lorde – Tennis Court and BOOTS f/ Beyoncé – Dreams.

3.47: Beyoncé vocals are so powerful on that track! Love it! Tennis Court lyrics are deep as well! What can we expect from you in the future?
J’lectroniq: My brand new (concept)album ‘If Love Isn’t Enough’ will be released on June 30. Besides this album there will be also an EP with a Dutch spoken word artist out there in July. And last but not least, I’m hoping that my live EP with my team (LVRE GANG) will be recorded soon.

3.47: Sounds good! Hope it all goes well on your live show! Do you have any other hidden talents?
J’lectroniq: Well I like to design and film (more at afrodsc.net) and I’m still thinking about making a bigger move towards clothing (I actually did already some stuff, but that’s on the side for now).

3.47: Can we still get hold of some of them? Also hope to see more of it!
J’lectroniq: Sure, here is a film I did for the company, where I was working for last year! All the other movies that I produced (and co-produced) for myself/ my label can be found here: vimeo.com/afrodsc/videos The design stuff is mostly about the album art (I do that myself),some promotional material for other parties, but I also did some clothing prints!

3.47: If you had the power to run your own label, what would you call it?
J’lectroniq: I’m actually running my own label already, it’s called ‘Afrodisiac Recordings.’ Afrodisiac is a combination of two things: 1. An aphrodisiac stands for a love substance (from aphrodisios), or in this case the love for music. 2. Afro stands for the Afro-American culture, because my music is based on Afro-American music like hip hop for instance.

3.47: Awesome! How’s it been going so far? Is there a way for talent to get hold of you if they wish to join?
J’lectroniq: Running your own label isn’t easy and so far it is not really a big deal, because I’m just focussing on me and my team (J’lectroniq & LVRE GANG). But having your own company allows you to work with third parties/other companies, because your totally legal in doing your work (having a chamber of commerce & VAT number). I hope that I can sign other artists later on (in a year of 2), when I reach that point I’m probably going to scout myself some nice artists.

3.47: What’s the best advice you been given?
J’lectroniq: It’s good to have dreams, it’s better to make them work.

3.47: Simply but effective! I love it! What advice can you give to people who want to be like yourself?
J’lectroniq: Creativity takes courage!

3.47: It does and as you said, some people are just in it for making money! Given the chance to run YouTube what would you change about it?
J’lectroniq: If I would run YouTube, I would make it more clear, minimalistic and less cluttered. Also I would change the adverts policy (I think there are too much adverts at the moment). Take Vimeo for instance, it looks way better!

3.47: I gotta agree with you on that! I think Google really does need to go back to basics with it! Final question! Anything you want to say to your fans out there?
J’lectroniq: Thanks for listening to my stuff, I appreciate it very much! Like I said already before:”What would art be without an audience?” For all you festival/club programmers out there, book me and my team!

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to J’lectroniq for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

J’lectroniq Links
Official site
SoundCloud
Facebook
Twitter
BandCamp

Leave a Reply

