Leave a comment

Interview: Novacore

My guest today is none other than Novacore! Novacore was recently featured in Skyward Music compilation album Cataclysm, with his track, Unchained Memories! He’s recently did worked on a collab with Bag Head! to create his latest track, Exoskelleton! I caught up with the producer to do this interview!

3.47: How did the name come about?
Novacore: The name came about while I was on a band name generator website. I had to put a picture of myself in and a whole bunch of names would pop up. Novacore came up and I liked it so I decided to stick with it.

3.47: How long have you been making music for?
Novacore: I’ve been making music for almost 4 years and I’ve been producing EDM for about 1 year.

3.47: Was this something you always wanted to do?
Novacore: Not necessarily, music has always been in my family. I’ve been playing piano since I was 3 but I had no intention to make music and really take it seriously.

3.47: What was your reaction like when you saw the feedback coming in about your music?
Novacore: After I made my first official EDM song, Reality Shock, I sent it to some labels and they told me to try and get it on drumnbass.net. Little did I know that they’d promote it and it would reach #1 on drumnbass.net. When feedback like this was coming in about my music I was shocked and didn’t really know how to take it. But I’m very happy with the positive feedback everyone gives me about my songs.

3.47: Would you like to play live at some point?
Novacore: I’d like to, but I want to avoid playing big room and trap live.

3.47: From experience is making your own tracks easier than a remix or just as hard?
Novacore: Making a remix is a million times easier then making an original song. I can push out a solid remix in 3 hours tops but it takes me at least 7 hours to write a full original piece.

3.47: What do you do in your spare time?
Novacore: I like to hang out with friends, play video games and more recently watch anime and make short amvs or animations.

3.47: Given the chance who would you love to work with?
Novacore: I’d love to work with Varien and MUST DIE! Both producers really know how to show emotion and tell a story with their music which is what I try to do.

3.47: What would you say are the advantage/disadvantage of been independent?
Novacore: Being independent really helps me be a lot more free with my music and I can experiment with loads of different genres. However, if you care at all about getting “big” then being independent isn’t recommended in the slightest as it takes much longer to get “big”.

3.47: What’s your favourite song at the moment?
Novacore: My favourite song would have to be Virtual Insanity by Jamiroquai. I’m a sucker for funk and disco music.

3.47: Your track Unchained memories was featured on Skyward’s Cataclysm compilation album! Can we expect to see you being featured on more compilations albums in the future?
Novacore: I’m very open to being part of a compilation. Whether or not I’ll be a part of one again in the future is entirely up to the person who makes the compilation happen.

3.47: Unchained memories did have a bit of your vocals involved so can hear more of that in future tracks?
Novacore: The vocals actually are not mine. I will admit the sample I used sounds a lot like my voice. The vocals come from a royalty free sample pack from Black Octopus Audio that I got a while ago. I’ll be getting a mic soon so you can expect more vocal tracks from me in the future.

3.47: What’s your favourite film?
Novacore: Probably Inception just because it makes me think.

3.47: Given the chance to run YouTube what would you change about it?
Novacore: The real question should be “what wouldn’t I change about it?” (Laughs). I’d fix the copyright crap that goes on just because I know so many great channels that get strikes because of YouTube’s stupid copyright policy.

3.47: Do you have any other hidden talents?
Novacore: I’m very good at impersonations and comedy. I can manipulate my voice to sound like many different people/characters.

3.47: If you had the power to run your own label, what would you call it?
Novacore: I’d call it Starlight Records if given the chance.

3.47: What’s the best advice you been given?
Novacore: The best advice I’ve been given is “don’t be afraid to be original”. I think with a genre of music like EDM it’s very difficult to be original. All of these young producers all act like “oh I wanna sound like Zomboy” or “I need to know how they made this bass” or even something like “I’m gonna make a similar melody to this song”. So being original is something that I try to be.

3.47: What advice can you give to people who want to be like yourself?
Novacore: The advice I’d give is simple: don’t try and be like me, be like yourself. I hate it when people try and copy my music or ask me advice on how to write a melody or a chord progression simply because they don’t know how. I have no problem teaching music theory to people but when it comes to chord progressions, you get good by making them yourself. That’s what will make you shine and stand out from other producers/musicians.

3.47: What can we expect from you in the future?
Novacore: Lots of stuff! I have an LP in the works right now as well as a lot of free music along the way. Not to mention my monthly dubstep mixes as well which are on my YouTube channel.

3.47: Final question! Anything you want to say to your fans out there?
Novacore: I want to thank all of my fans out there who have supported me along my journey so far. I never thought people would actually listen to the music I make and without the fans I don’t know if it would be 100% worth it.

Novacore Links
SoundCloud
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
Google
Bandcamp

Leave a Reply

