Leave a comment

Interview: Sally Fowler

My guest today is the amazing lady, Sally Fowler! When I first heard the talented lady’s voice on her cover version of Mad World, I instantly fell in love with it! Last year she released her album I will cry at your funeral with tracks that include: The Hollow, Canyon and Innocent man to name a few! Sally was kind enough to give up some free time, to do this interview!

3.47: How long have you been making music for?
Sally: I’ve always dabbled in music. I started playing the guitar and the violin in sixth grade. However, I didn’t start taking song writing seriously until 2010. First song I wrote was “The Hollow.” I had recently watched “The Road” and that movie is a punch in the gut. I found it and the book incredibly inspiring. My two roommates were the first to hear the song. I probably don’t credit them enough, because if they had hated it or been indifferent, I wouldn’t still be writing.

3.47: Does anyone else in your family play musical instruments or sings?
Sally: My brother played the drums in high school. He was good. He was really good. I plan on stealing him away from his job one day to play with me. He understands percussion a lot better than I do.

3.47: What was your reaction like when you saw the feedback coming in about your music?
Sally: I was pretty shocked. It was so overwhelmingly positive. I don’t tend to believe people when they give me a compliment. I just sort of shrug it off. After a while though, I had to start thinking, “Ok. Maybe I can actually do this.”

3.47: How hard has it been making the piano versions of songs?
Sally: I don’t play the piano. Not sure what you mean here.

3.47: What do you do in your spare time?
Sally: I like to read. I’m addicted to Netflix like everyone else. I like to write halves of screenplays and never finish them.

3.47: You have a good balance of original tracks and covers, which do you prefer doing?
Sally: I would say originals. But, I definitely learn so much from doing covers. I get ideas on how to construct my own songs, or I’ll learn a new chord progression. There’s a lot to learn from other people’s music, but the freedom I get from writing my own songs is incredible. I get to be in control of creating and that feeling is the best feeling.

3.47: What’s your favourite song at the moment?
Sally: Thank you for saying “at the moment” because I don’t think I could pinpoint a favourite song of all time. Probably “Alice” by Tom Waits. I’ve fallen into a Tom Waits black hole. It’s terrifying and brilliant here.

3.47: What can we expect from you in the future?
Sally: I’m working on another self-recorded album that I hope to have done fairly soon. Also planning a move to somewhere there is more opportunity to play. I haven’t played live in front of anyone in a while. Very out of practice.

3.47: Do you have any other hidden talents?
Sally: I went to school for acting before I started writing songs. Maybe I’ll jump back into that someday.

3.47: If you had the power to run your own label, what would you call it?
Sally: Probably something that means nothing to the average person, but would be some weird inside joke I have with friends. “Linen Closet Records,” perhaps.

3.47: Given the chance who would you love to work with?
Sally: I would really just love to collaborate with a male vocalist. I have songs I’ve written that I can hear a male part for, but don’t have someone I can grab and say, “Sing this!” Someone like Glen Hansard or Alejandro Rose-Garcia would be amazing.

3.47: What’s the best advice you been given?
Sally: I had an acting teacher that once said something to the effect of, “If there isn’t blood on the walls by the time you are done, then it wasn’t worth it.” A lot of the things he said never clicked with me, but that idea was pretty damn powerful.

3.47: What advice can you give to others who want to do what your doing?
Sally: Trust yourself. When I stopped trying to sound like other people and stopped trying to write about subjects I thought people wanted to hear about, that’s when I was finally able to make something worthwhile. Just remember it’s a constant struggle, but if you trust your instincts, it won’t be so uphill.

3.47Given the chance to run YouTube what would you change about it?
Sally: I think I would make it a bit easier to browse. Have subset pages for vloggers, musicians, tutorials, etc. I think it would be easier to form a community, discover different content, and not occidentally spend three hours watching cat videos.

3.47: Final question! Anything you want to say to your listeners out there?
Sally: Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. What lovely people you are.

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Sally Fowler for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Sally Fowler Links
SoundCloud
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
Google+
Bandcamp

Leave a Reply

