Leave a comment

Interview: Lewis Hurrell

I’ll been honest, I’m always looking for songs that have that emotional feel! When I first heard of Lewis Hurrell’s track, Ordinary life (video above), it had the wow factor! He has another track as well called Highs and lows which again has the wow factor! I was given the chance to interview Lewis and this is how it play out!

3.47: When did you first started getting noticed as a singer?
Lewis Hurrell: When I was 18 I put out 2 instrumental albums under the name 2012, a couple years after that I started adding lyrics to my songs so I guess when I was around 20 or 21, but more recently I just wrapped up a new song for a feature length documentary called “American Made Movie” which plays on the end credits, it’s called “The Shelf” and will soon be released.

3.47: What inspires you as a artist?
Lewis: I would say this is a big umbrella for me, Music inspires me a lot, also I love just sitting down at the piano with nothing in mind and a chord might inspire me or even a few notes might start something off, Also the places I’ve lived have played a part in my music, overall just Life, it’s pretty damn inspiring you just gotta know where to look.

3.47: Who would you like to work with next? Anyone famous at all?
Lewis: I would love to work with Ryan Tedder of One Republic, or Chris Martin of Coldplay, I really feel like there’s a familiar thread through what we’re doing and we could come up with some great stuff, mainly I wanna work with people who are better than me.

3.47: When it comes to a track do you get a lot of them and have to decline them? For example the beat might not be to your fitting or are you open to all types?
Lewis: Some I shelf for later, I might discover something I did years ago and have a fresh outlook on it in this moment, I skip through a lot of “genres” never really sticking to any one thing, I love that freedom about music, and especially being an independent artist you can do whatever you want.

3.47: What was your reaction like when you saw the feedback coming in about your music?
Lewis: Way back when it was really surprising, I mean I loved what I was doing but I didn’t really know if other people would pick up on it, but yeah the reaction has been mostly positive so far…

3.47: If you had the power to run your own music label, what would you call it?
Lewis: I used to have an indie label called TwentyTwelveRecords, but that’s no longer in existence..

3.47: What would you say has been the weirdest request you had?
Lewis: I haven’t actually had any requests, not weird ones anyways,

3.47: When it comes to being independent what would you say are the advantage and disadvantage you have?
Lewis: The advantages, Freedom is a big one, I would say that the kind of promotion you can get with a major is still one of the main reasons to be on one.

3.47: Are you playing live events or is that something you want to do?
Lewis: It’s something I’m thinking about, the main goal for me right now is to finish these songs as they come and get an album together, I always thought this stuff would be epic live and I know that moments gonna come I just don’t know the how or when yet, but I feel it.

3.47: What’s your favourite song at the moment?
Lewis: Harlem by Cathedrals, awesome track, awesome band.

3.47: What’s the best advice you been given?
Lewis: Hope for the best, prepare for the worst. My stepdad said that to me as I was gearing up for major back surgery and it’s always stuck with me.

3.47: What advice can you give to others who want to be like you?
Lewis: Just be yourself, what makes you unique is always gonna be you, don’t latch onto trends in the music industry, create your own, people often forget about this and wanna say “check us out! We sound exactly like the Beatles!” If i wanted to listen to someone that sounded like the Beatles I would probably just listen to the Beatles you know what i mean? Whatevers inside of you, let that come out, don’t be too manipulative.

3.47: Does anyone else in your family sing?
Lewis: My mom does sing quite a bit, she’s been involved in singing groups over the years.

3.47: What do you do in your spare time?
Lewis: Besides make music, I cook a lot, I love food and I love to cook, I’ve been working as a chef for the past 9 years and always have just loved the creativity that’s involved in it.

3.47: Do you have any other hidden talents?
Lewis: I’m actually quite fond of acting, I used to want to be an actor, then a filmmaker, I finally landed on musician but that doesn’t mean I won’t explore that other stuff later on.

3.47: If you had the chance to run YouTube what would you change about it?
Lewis: Less ads..

3.47: I heard Ordinary Life and wow … Honestly … The emotion you have in that song is just amazing! I had to keep replaying it! The lines I’ll take back your wings and fly … Tell me where you got the inspiration to write that masterpiece of a song?
Lewis: Well it came out of jam with one of my friends from Manchester, the lyrics came later but I can say that it’s just about being who you are and taking back your power as a human being, not getting trapped in your own mind and just being free.

3.47: As a writer myself, I get writers block at times! But what do you when you get stuck on writing lyrics?
Lewis: Lyrics are probably the hardest for me, I would say don’t over analyse things, I mean some of the best songs out there, the lyrics don’t even make sense, and the artists have admitted to this, just remember music is supposed to be free, as long as the emotion is there, that’s all I really care about. The best thing you can do is step away if you have writers block, I’ve found that doing other things creative can also feed the music side of things, I take a lot of pictures of the imagery around where I live, as long as your sparking the creative side of you it will feed other things.

3.47: What can we expect from you in the future?
Lewis: More and more Music, I’m not gonna give this up and I really mean that, it’s in my blood and I need it to survive in this world.

3.47: Any words you want to say to your listeners out there?
Lewis: Thank you! if you’re getting something out of my music then I feel as if my job is done, I hope that my music can help in anyway possible 🙂

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Lewis Hurrell for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Lewis Hurrell links
SoundCloud
Facebook
Twitter
Youtube
Google+

Leave a Reply

