1 Comment

Interview: Laura Brehm

My guest today is Laura Brehm! Laura is no stranger to the EDM scene! She has been featured on Elliot Berger’s Diamond Sky, Ecotek & James Egbert’s Love will carry us and the latest single by Varien: Valkyrie! Laura was kind enough to give up some free time to do this interview!

3.47: When did you first started getting noticed as a singer?
Laura Brehm: When I was 16, I started to perform my singer-songwriter material in front of my guitar class at school. Since then I’ve been recording and performing for audiences on a regular basis.

3.47: What inspires you as a artist?
Laura: So many different things inspire me. Life experiences, relationships, films, nature, dreams, travelling, music … and the list could go on and on.

3.47: Who would you like to work with next? Anyone famous at all?
Laura: I really want to work with experimental electronic producers such as Royksopp and Zero 7. Also, I’d love to do vocals on a track with Lindsey Stirling on violin. This is just to name a few.. my list is continuing to grow.

3.47: When it comes to a track do you get a lot of them and have to decline them? For example the beat might not be to your fitting or are you open to all types?
Laura: I’m definitely open to many different genres; it just depends on the track itself. The ones I accept are the songs that I believe to be the best in quality, and make sense as far as the blend of styles we will be working with.

3.47: Are you surprised at how big you become?
Laura: I wouldn’t say so. I’ve known I wanted a career in music since I was 5 years old. I’m 23 now, and I feel like I’m where I need to be. I’ve only just begun accomplishing my goals.

3.47: What was your reaction like when you saw the feedback coming in about your music?
Laura: It made me very happy. Of course, not everyone’s going to like my music, but if some people do that is enough for me.

3.47: If you had the power to run your own music label, what would you call it?
Laura: Something that has to do with birds, the sky, or space… something ethereal.

3.47: What would you say has been the weirdest request you had?
Laura: I don’t think I’ve had any really strange requests.

3.47: When it comes to being independent what would you say are the advantage and disadvantage you have?
Laura: It’s an advantage to have the freedom to create your career the way you want to; it’s great to be your own boss. It can be challenging as well when you don’t have the high volume of promotion and exposure that the main stream artists have.

3.47: Are you playing live events or is that something you want to do?
Laura: I haven’t been doing as many live events as I used to because for the last two years I’ve been concerned mainly with writing and studio work, but it’s definitely something I’m looking to get back into. Performance is probably my favorite aspect of being a musician so I know that in the long run I will be doing a lot of it.

3.47: What’s your favourite song at the moment?
Laura: Since I saw the movie Maleficent, I can’t stop listening to Lana Del Rey’s rendition of “Once Upon A Dream”; it’s beautiful.

3.47: What’s the best advice you been given?
Laura: To keep enjoying my work; it will really shine through in the music.

3.47: What advice can you give to others who want to be like you?
Laura: If you decide to be a singer-songwriter, I think it’s important to find what you want to say to your audience. What matters the most to you? What issues in the world do you think need to be addressed? What emotions do you wish to express? Finding the answers to these questions has helped shape my artistry.

3.47: Does anyone else in your family sing?
Laura: Yes. My mother is a singer-songwriter and so is my younger brother.

3.47: What do you do in your spare time?
Laura: I enjoy time with family and friends as much as I can. I love to work out, watch movies, travel, read psychology books, and work on deepening my spirituality.

3.47: Do you have any other hidden talents?
Laura: I think of ideas for story lines that could possibly be used in film. They’re usually inspired by a dream I had, and I always write them out.

3.47: If you had the chance to run YouTube what would you change about it?
Laura: More promotional outlets for the up-and-coming channels.

3.47: You also produce music as well which is cool, how long you been doing that?
Laura: I’ve only released a few self-productions in full but I produce all of my own vocals. I’ve been doing that for about 2 or 3 years now.

3.47: What can we expect from you in the future?
Laura: The EDM collaborations will keep coming. Also expect new solo releases and live shows in the future.

3.47: Any words you want to say to your fans out there?
Laura: Thank you for supporting me, it means the world and it keeps me going. 🙂

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Laura Brehm for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Laura Brehm Links
SoundCloud
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
Google+

One comment on “Interview: Laura Brehm

Leave a Reply

