Leave a comment

Interview: Nitrix

Hmm sounds like we’re gonna be heading into a warzone! My guest today is Nitrix! He has made hits such as Charybdis (video above), Essence and recently made a remix of Astronaut – Champions (feat. Harry Brooks Jnr)! Nitrix was kind enough to give up some free time, to do this interview!

3.47: How did the name come about?
Nitrix: Well, I don’t have a particularly meaningful story behind my name, as many artists do. I simply wanted to come up with a alias that sounded cool, and resonated my energetic style of EDM. Hence, “Nitrix,” after many days of thought (I’m not the best with names). As Ironic as it is, I came to find (after I had already set up all of my accounts with “Nitrix” ) was the name of a brand of muscular supplement of sorts. I found that kind of funny, yet fitting since I am an EDM producer that focuses on energy-packed music.

3.47: How long have you been making music for?
Nitrix: If I recall correctly, I started producing around fall of 2012, which makes that a little less then 2 years in total. I started on a browser based software and community called Audiotool. I met some wonderful people, and learned the basis of my production knowledge, which continues to grow everyday. Around July of 2013 I started to produce on DAW’s that were more commercial. I began with Ableton, and soon swapped to FL, which I use to date.

3.47: Was this something you always wanted to do?
Nitrix: Not always, my interest in EDM in whole was rather spontaneous. I was on vacation in Florida one year and my cousin introduced me to EDM, and before I knew it I was looking for ways to create it myself.

3.47: What was your reaction like when you saw the feedback coming in about your music?
Nitrix: I was honestly surprised, looking back on it, because I have always been very self-critical. Even on some of my early tracks on Audiotool, which I don’t feel are good at all, people said that they enjoyed them. It always gives me a good feeling when someone else receives enjoyment from something I’ve made.

3.47: Would you like to play live at some point?
Nitrix: I would, but it wouldn’t be possible for a while. I about to be a junior in a high school this coming school year, so obviously I can’t play at clubs yet, let alone get into them.

3.47: From experience is making your own tracks easier than a remix or just as hard?
Nitrix: I find making originals much easier than remixing. In originals, I just let what ever I’m thinking flow. But in remixes (which so far have only been for competitions) I feel more limited, and it’s harder for me to finish them. There have been quite a few remixes I have back out of because track I had created, or started, had been pretty bad.

3.47: What do you do in your spare time?
Nitrix: During the school year, I have no free time, my courses are very demanding. On top of that I’m fairly involved in my school’s music program. So as you might guess, every second of spare time I have is devoted to producing. In the summer, I’m almost glued to my computer with FL open all day. Recently I’ve been interested in Jazz, and have played a few gigs with two friends of mine in a Jazz trio we started. I play sax, and the others play piano and bass guitar. That’s been incredibly fun!

3.47: Given the chance who would you love to work with?
Nitrix: That’s a tough one, but if I had to pick one I would definitely choose Virtual Riot because the music is the perfect blend of melodies and awesome sound design.

3.47: What would you say are the advantage/disadvantage of been independent?
Nitrix: Well up until I signed “Radiant Sweep” with Digital Empire Records, I found being independent to be a struggle, but in the end every effort was no doubt rewarding. It can seem to be a disadvantage most of the time just because you fan base grows so slowly, and all methods of promotion and distribution are rested on your own shoulders.

3.47: What’s your favourite song at the moment?
Nitrix: There are tons of awesome tracks out right now, but my favourite is probably Noisestorm’s VIP mix of “Breakdown.” It’s amazing!

3.47: Quite a lot of the artists I interview use FL studio, do you also use it?
Nitrix: I do use FL studio, as I’ve previously stated, and I love it! My favourite part is the ability to literally place things anywhere without any sense of organization!

3.47: What was it the feeling like when your track Essence got featured on EDM.com?
Nitrix: That was one of the happiest moments I’ve had through my music. The wait was about 3 weeks, but it was well worth it! To make it even better, they uploaded “Essence” on my birthday, which was completely a coincidence!

3.47: What’s your favourite film?
Nitrix: I’m not a big movie person, but recently I saw X-Men Days of Future Past which I loved as much as it confused me!

3.47: Given the chance to run YouTube what would you change about it?
Nitrix: I would change a lot, but most notably, I would fix their streaming problems. It’s something ridiculous like 10 minutes of delay, which is why most producers choose to stream though other less convenient mediums.

3.47: Do you have any other hidden talents?
Nitrix: Like I said, I also play the sax, and I’d like to say I’m pretty good at, but that’s all up to the listener. Other than music I don’t have much that I do, but music alone gives me an intense schedule.

3.47: If you had the power to run your own label, what would you call it?
Nitrix: I sat around for 20 minutes trying to think of a name to answer this question! I’m not the best with names actually. However, I think I would call my hypothetical label “Propulsion Records.” I may seem a little lame, but I like that name since it sounds like it will deliver high energy tracks!

3.47: What’s the best advice you been given?
Nitrix: This is very cheesy, but that would have to be to never stop, and to believe that you will improve. I cannot tell you how many times I’ve wanted to quit because I thought that everything I made sucked.

3.47: What advice can you give to people who want to be like yourself?
Nitrix: Like I said, never stop because with the proper effort and desire to learn, you will improve as long as you keep at it. Also, try to be as original as you can. People look for originality. Don’t take that to the extreme and make the weirdest and strangest tracks you can think of just to be original (unless of course you want to do that). I guess what I’m saying is don’t be concerned with discovering you “signature” style (much like I was) because if you just produce what you like to produce, eventually you will come across something that you can call your own, and that people will identify you with.

3.47: What can we expect from you in the future?
Nitrix: I have a lot planned for the future in terms of label releases. I have been reaching out recently and I’ve gotten some good news back! However, my general rule of thumb is, “If you don’t get a response in two weeks make it a free track.” So a lot of new music is on the horizon!

3.47: Final question! Anything you want to say to your fans out there?
Nitrix: I would love to extend my biggest thanks for all of the support I’ve received. It’s meant the world to me for sure! I so excited to reveal my plans and unreleased music in the near future, and I hope you all are too!

Nitrix Links
Soundcloud
Facebook
YouTube
Google+
Bandcamp

Leave a Reply

