Leave a comment

Interview: ATMos

My next guest today is none other than ATMos! The 18 year old from Bordeaux, France has made songs such as When you get down, Common Things and the latest track, It doesn’t seem so easy! ATMos was kind enough to give up some free time, to do this interview!

3.47: How did the name come about?
ATMos: The name ATMos come from my name first (Arramon Théo Music = ATM) and recently I decided to change to ATMos because… because I think it’s more fun perhaps .. ?

3.47: When did you first started getting noticed as a singer?
ATMos: I play in a band called Maho as a guitarist and I make choirs sometimes. When I started to sing in my band, I’ve decided at the same time (approximately) to create my own music and step by step I’ve sing on.

3.47: Does anyone else in your family sing?
ATMos: No, no one sings in my family but they are all passionate by every kinds of music as listeners

3.47: What inspires you as a artist?
ATMos: I think everything and nothing particularly inspire me, I can imagine parts of new music when I discover new places or when I make something different as usually. But I compose often at night, I love this atmosphere.

3.47: Who would you like to work with next? Anyone famous at all?
ATMos: I’m fond of The Kooks and Phoenix so I’d love to work with some of those incredible men. I think Julian Casablancas too because he’s an awesome composer and performer!

3.47: How hard is it being independent and trying to get your voice out there?
ATMos: I think being independent is an important step for an artist. For the moment, I want to create my own universe as composer so I should try some different sounds, melodies. So I think it’s easier when you are totally free, no fences.

3.47: When you get down is one amazing song that I love! Smooth guitar rifts with the vocals made it sound awesome! Where did you the inspiration to write this one?
ATMos: When you get down is my first song as ATMos, it was a real challenge for me to try to compose every instrument alone. I was in Paris (which is a town I love) when I’ve composed this one and this big city rhythm has inspired me a lot ! so much people everywhere, some awesome places. My brain was like « Whooooohooo what happens ?! ».

3.47: What’s your favourite film?
ATMos: My favourite film.. so hard of a question but I’ll say Good Morning England, just because it’s in a period that makes me dream. So much good music and pirate radios everywhere!

3.47: What was your reaction like when you saw the feedback coming in about your music?
ATMos: I was stressed when I’ve upload my first song on SoundCloud, but finally the reactions of my friends was quite cool and it gave me a little more confidence in what I was doing.

3.47: If you had the power to run your own music label, what would you call it?
ATMos: ATMrecords without hesitation! I like when it’s clear! (Laughs)

3.47: What would you say has been the weirdest request you had?
ATMos: I don’t remember any weirdest request.. perhaps my sister who harass me to compose music for her.. it becomes very strange!!

3.47: What would you say are the advantage/disadvantage of been independent?
ATMos: As I said before, being independent is the best position to start making music for me. But when you’ve got a universe and enough composition to start playing live, it’s harder without a label who help you to develop your communication. I’m a musician, not a seller..

3.47: Are you hoping to perform live?
ATMos: I already played live with my band Maho and it takes me many time with my studies and my own composition so for the moment I can’t think about playing my own songs live. But I hope I will someday…

3.47: What’s your favourite song at the moment?
ATMos: At the moment I’ve too much favourite songs! New album from the Kooks/Coldplay.. too difficult for me to choose: Ink (Coldplay) and Around Town (The Kooks) are played at least a hundred time per day in my car….

3.47: What’s the best advice you been given?
ATMos: Keep trying. It’s difficult to compose good music that you are proud of two months after finished and I think an artist should create many mistakes before starting to create real good things.

3.47: What advice can you give to to others who want to be like you?
ATMos: Trust in you and share first with your friends, even if they are not perfectly objective, it gave the tendency. Except this, I can’t give advice, I’m just a little independent who’s born in the huge Music World..

3.47: What do you do in your spare time?
ATMos: I like playing Tennis with friends or just hang out everywhere. I try to travelling every years in different countries or just in a new region of France because i love discovering new landscapes, it excites me !

3.47: Do you have any other hidden talents?
ATMos: Any hidden talent? I can fold my tongue! But hush it’s a secret..

3.47: If you had the chance to run YouTube what would you change about it?
ATMos: I think YouTube is a big tool when you begins to make yourselves known. But too big for artists who begin unfortunately.. Perhaps they should try to work in this direction. I use a lot more SoundCloud.

3.47: What can we expect from you in the future?
ATMos: I’ve just upload a new song on SoundCloud called « It doesn’t seem so easy » more rock in my opinion. And I will soon upload another song I work on since few months and which was a challenge for me. Stay tuned, the song is called « T ».

3.47: Final question! Any words you want to say to your listeners out there?
ATMos: I hope you’ll enjoy the new colours of songs coming next! Continue to follow me on Facebook/SoundCloud many contents will be online!! Keep it coming!!

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to ATMos for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

ATMos Links
SoundCloud
Facebook
MySpace
YouTube
Google+

Leave a Reply

