Leave a comment

Interview: Eocene Nine

My guest today is none other than Eocene Nine! These guys blew up the scene with their debut singles, Chasm and Your Smile! Things went quiet for nearly a year on the duo but now they are back! However this time around, things are a little different! This is how the interview played out!

3.47: Okay straight off the bat! Glad to see Eocene Nine back! Praise the lord! But where have you guys been?!
Eocene Nine: Well, we got some problems with Subranger, mostly in case of study and work, also Subranger wasn’t able to make something during he’s changing of live place. And I was just stuck with my job and university. Sometimes I tried to make something but making complete tune wasn’t main aim for me, only improving skills.But now Eocene Nine is finally back.

3.47: As you said on Soundcloud it is only going to be yourself, Elo Method now working on tracks. Will Subranger be reappear later in the future?
Eocene: Yea, that’s true. For the next year I’ll be only one working as Eocene Nine. But you can be sure that Subranger will join me as soon as he will be free =)

3.47: Will you be still using Elo Method for your own music as well or will you retire it?
Eocene: About Elo Method, I’m pretty sure that I wont work as Elo Method for next year, I’m still thinking about finished some old Future Garage projects,but its not my main aim at the moment,since I want to work on Eocene Nine as much as it possible, but I still cant say I will leave it for sure.

3.47: How long have you both know each other for?
Eocene: I think its about 3 years now.I just changed my music style from drum and bass to something deeper and atmospheric and Subranger already was in it.Cant remind how I met him,but we started to work together pretty soon.It was good time to start making such music since burial became really popular here in Russia so we decided that we can make something interesting too,being inspired by such stuff.

3.47: Why the name Eocene Nine? Is there an story behind it?
Eocene: Well, I think there is story behind our name “Eocene Nine”.Im not sure about Nine(i think it was just lovely random number),but Eocene was for “Rise” like new circle of our work.From this time we were making music as Eocene Nine and not just Elo Method and Subranger.

3.47: Also any stories behind the nicknames Subranger and Elo Method?
Eocene: I’m not sure about Subrangers name,but I can say that my name is absolutely random. Like I was playing some games with Elo Rating System. So I decided that Elo Method should sounds cool (Laughs).

3.47: Does anyone else in your family sing or musician?
Eocene: (Laughs), interesting question. I think I have only music listeners in my family.

3.47: What inspires you as a artist?
Eocene: You know, inspiration is everywhere around. You will never know what you will be inspired by. It can be weather or song, or just your evening mood. But its mostly about mood.

3.47: How supportive have your friends and family been?
Eocene: I think my friends, girlfriend and my family are my best fans to be honest. And I’m really proud of myself if they love my new tune, because if my mom says its cool, it must be really cool then (Laughs).

3.47: Who would you like to work with next? Anyone famous at all?
Eocene: Oh, there are a lot of really talented artists at the moment and of course I have my own wishlist about people I’d like to make collaborations with. I think everyone from garage community have a wish about working with Burial just to see from how this magic is made. Another person I’m really interested to work with is Sorrow. He’s just top producer in garage for me right now. Its just another vision of Future Garage music. Not only perfect atmospheres in his tune, but also top quality of production.so maybe someday..:) And some of my wishes is coming to life, like upcoming collaboration with Vacant (make sure you will check this guy if you didn’t hear anything about him yet) and Vancore (Another perfect Russian producer). And I’d like to work again with Koda (this voice mmm).

3.47: Do you prefer working side by side with someone to make a track or you’re okay working over the internet instead?
Eocene: (Laughs), we have tried side by side work with Subranger once, its really difficult you know. Since its only one person is working at the same time and sometimes you just cant get the right idea from your buddy its more like he’s just suggesting you, not working with you. And when you’re working through the internet its became completely different thing. You can just send all thing you have in your mind and he can do the same, after it we both can sort it out to find the best way to work πŸ™‚

3.47: How hard is it being independent and trying to get your voice out there?
Eocene: Well, I’m not sure I can answer to this question. I’m not doing too much about it, I just making stuff I like and other things is going by themselves,cant really say. I’m just making music and someone help it to be heard πŸ™‚

3.47: When it comes to a track do you get a lot of them and have to decline some? For example the beat might not be to your fitting or are you open to all types?
Eocene: Well, I think I’m trying everything I like,so I’m open for all types,but most of them just sleeping in my table.For this years I still got no my own sound you know, so I want to aim on this part first. And maybe later I will release something really different from things I’m doing.

3.47: Are there any genres of music that you like to try out?
Eocene: Well, I think both me and subranger already changed our mind about music,especially future garage. It was interesting genre for us, but we need to move, it still will be deep atmospheric music,but closer to edm.Chilltrap/Chilltep probably, cant say that I don’t love future garage any more, I just feel that I want more dynamic in my sound.

3.47: Are you surprised at how big your fan base has become?
Eocene: Is it big?:D I have no ideas how many listeners I have in the world, but I cant say I have big fan base here, in Russia. Not sure this music is associated with word “Fan Base” at all. But I really appreciate that there are people who like my stuff.

3.47: What was your reaction like when you saw the feedback coming in about your music?
Eocene: You know. I think its the best moment for every single musician – when people gives you positive feedbacks. It means you’re doing it in the right way finally.

3.47: Quite a few producers I’ve interviewed so far use FL Studio! Is that the same for yourself?
Eocene: Yea, I’m one of this guys who use FL studio (Laughs). I tried a lot of different DAWs but found myself comfortable with FL the most. I’m using FL for 8 years now and I can see how its grow. 12th version must be something really huge, cant wait for it.

3.47: If you had the power to run your own music label, what would you call it?
Eocene: (Laughs), I’m not sure I ever think about it.But id like to call it Breath In Music maybe πŸ™‚

3.47: What has been the weirdest request you had?
Eocene: I’m happy guy about this question,nothing weird for me for 3 years.But who knows what will be in future (Laughs)

3.47: What would you say are the advantage/disadvantage of been independent?
Eocene: Answer is quite easy – you’re independent. That’s the biggest advantage of being independent.U just make music you like and you don’t have to listen to anybody. So I think being free in your art is the best thing you can ever have.

3.47: Are you hoping to perform live?
Eocene: Oh, that’s really painful question for me πŸ˜€ I have everything I need for performance now, but I’m too lazy yet to start out live project. But you can be sure that one day I will.For sure.

3.47: What’s your favourite song at the moment?
Eocene: I think I have few of them Jan Amit – Heal (just take a look at this little badass guy). Sorrow – Lovers Charm. Nuage – Colours and Active Child – Subtle (feat. Mikky Ekko).

3.47: What’s your favourite movie?
Eocene: Forest Gump. The best movie of all the times.

3.47: What’s your favourite video game?
Eocene: This is about my nickname.I was playing League of Legends for 4 years,but now I’m done. Sometimes I’m playing some games at my phone, but nothing special.

3.47: What’s the best advice you been given?
Eocene: Don’t lose your face. I saw it on Extra’s T-Short long time ago and this is thing you should be thinking about every single day. Stay human, don’t lose your face, be yourself. And if you’re musician, just make music your heart is belong to and not one which is just popular at this day. Nothing good in this.

3.47: What advice can you give to to others who want to be like you?
Eocene: Hmm, its really wide question, I don’t even know what to say about it. Not sure I know what is being like me means. But id say the same – don’t lose your face and do the things you want to do.

3.47: What do you do in your spare time?
Eocene: I’m trying to spend it with my lovely girlfriend πŸ™‚ cant say I have too much free time though.

3.47: Do you have any other hidden talents?
Eocene: Um. I can sleep for 15 hours after work, not sure if its talent (Laughs)

3.47: If you had the chance to run YouTube what would you change about it?
Eocene: You know, I’m pretty sure that guys from Google know how to do the best things, so maybe the only one thing I would change in YouTube is design πŸ™‚

3.47: Are there any upcoming artist like yourself that you’re keeping a close eye on? For example they are going to be reaching new heights soon?
Eocene: Yea sure, Vancore, Jan Amit, Vacant, Delta X, Manu Shrine. I’m pretty sure the will shot soon.

3.47: Can’t deny it but Chasm/Your smile were just plain awesome! But I do have a complaint! We need a new download link!
Eocene: Oh, that’s a really popular question for last days.You can easily find it everywhere in the internet, but I think that I’ll just buy pro plan account soon, so no worries πŸ™‚

3.47: What can we expect from you in the future?
Eocene: Also interesting question. For the next year I’m looking for some chilltrap/post dubstep stuff, a lot of collaborations with cool guys, be sure that you will have enough material to listen. I’m still not sure if I will make future garage any more, but who knows πŸ™‚

3.47: Final question! Any words you want to say to your listeners out there?
Eocene: (Laughs) and again – don’t lose your face, listen to good music and love your mom πŸ™‚

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Eocene Nine for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Eocene Nine Links
SoundCloud
Facebook
BandCamp

Leave a Reply

