Leave a comment

Interview: Mogi Grumbles

This track here is just too relaxing! I mean I feel like I could just kick back and just … Chill! My guest today is none other than Mogi Grumbles! Wait what? Yes that is the name! Mogi has done re-scores of tracks such as Escape from New York inspired album, I heard you was dead and even produced the soundtrack for the game, Fract! This is how the interview played out!

3.47: Normally people go by an alias but instead you got by your real name! Any reason for?
Mogi Grumbles: Mogi Grumbles is my alias.

3.47: Interesting! So how did the name come about?
Mogi: The name came from a friends lyric from a hip hop song he wrote. it became my nickname over the years and I have no idea what it means 😛

3.47: When did you first started getting noticed as an producer?
Mogi: I’ve been doing this alias since 2008

3.47: You said that you been using this alias since 2008. what were your other alias?
Mogi: I haven’t really gone under any other aliases.

3.47: Is anyone else in your family a musician?
Mogi: Not to my knowledge

3.47: What inspires you as a artist?
Mogi: All sorts of things! mainly the exploration of sounds with new or old gear.

3.47: How supportive have your friends and family been?
Mogi: They all have been very supportive and helpful throughout the years.

3.47: Who would you like to work with next? Anyone famous at all?
Mogi: I have somebody in mind, but i’m going to keep it secret for now so not to ruin the surprise.

3.47: How hard is it being independent and trying to get your voice out there?
Mogi: It’s not that difficult now with things like bandcamp and soundcloud those are great tools for independent artists.

3.47: Are there any songs where you couldn’t finish them for various reason?
Mogi: I’ve never finished some tracks for many different reasons, lost interest, wasn’t that good of a track to begin with… etc..

3.47: Are you surprised at how big your fan base has become?
Mogi: I wouldn’t call my fan base that “big” really. that’s not important to me though, I’m just glad I’ve reached people in general, that’s what makes me happy.

3.47: What was your reaction when you saw the feedback coming in about your music?
Mogi: Very positive, it’s good to know people like your art.

3.47: If you had the power to run your own music label, what would you call it?
Mogi: (Laughs) I have no idea really. I’m terrible at naming things, especially song titles.

3.47: What has been the weirdest request you had?
Mogi: None are coming to mind honestly.

3.47: What would you say are the advantage/disadvantage of been independent?
Mogi: Pro: I can do whatever I want and I am my own boss. Con: I don’t have thousands of dollars to spend on marketing

3.47: Are you hoping to perform live?
Mogi: I have been playing shows live off and on since 2008

3.47: What’s your favourite song at the moment?
Mogi: I don’t really have favourite songs but some of my favourite albums at the moment are boards of Canada – tomorrow’s harvest and umberto – prophecy of the black widow

3.47: Favourite video game at the moment?
Mogi: Probably dark souls 2 is my favourite at the moment. even though I think it’s not as strong as the past two games.

3.47: How do you feel about the next gen consoles? Have you brought into the hype and jumped ship?
Mogi: I think the new consoles are awesome so far, but as always it comes down to what selection of games there are for each. I think next year we will really see all 3 consoles come into their own.

3.47: What’s your favourite movie?
Mogi: There are too many to call favourites, the re-scores are obviously some of my favourites though.

3.47: What’s the best advice you been given?
Mogi: “Do what you want.”

3.47: What advice can you give to to others who want to be like you?
Mogi: See above 😛

3.47: What do you do in your spare time?
Mogi: I play a lot of video games.

3.47: Do you have any other hidden talents?
Mogi: Not really…? none that I can think of anyway.

3.47: If you had the chance to run YouTube what would you change about it?
Mogi: Nothing? I don’t really have an opinion about YouTube.

3.47: You deal with more the old school 80’s theme which is awesome! Is there any other type of genre you want to have a go at?
Mogi: There is some 80’s stuff for sure, but if you listen to my first album it’s very heavy on the filter house. I tend to move through genre’s really quickly actually.

3.47: Are there any upcoming artist like yourself that you’re keeping a close eye on? For example they are going to be reaching new heights soon?
Mogi: I really enjoy this guys beats. Late Night Arkade it’s some of the most original and great stuff I’ve heard in awhile.

3.47: What can we expect from you in the future?
Mogi: More re-scores and more video game soundtracks!

3.47: Final question! Any words you want to say to your listeners out there?
Mogi: Thanks for listening!

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Mogi Grumbles for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Mogi Grumbles Links
SoundCloud
Facebook
Bandcamp

Leave a Reply

