Leave a comment

Interview: Dreamhour

My guest today is none other than Dreamhour! Some of you may remember his vocals been used in the vocal version of Nightcall’s track, Dead V! But Dreamhour has also a range of tracks of his own with the debut music video for his track, How are you! Dreamhour was kind enough to give up some free time, to do this interview!

3.47: Why the name Dreamhour? Is there an story behind it?
Dreamhour: It was actually supposed to be the title of my debut single, ‘The New Day Song’, but I found the name very catchy and meaningful(?) so I chose it to represent this whole music project instead.

3.47: When did you first started getting noticed as a singer?
Dreamhour: As far as I remember, it was at my hostel, during my high school days. I’m a complete introvert and very much afraid of the stage but decided to sing for this singing contest anyways. And it actually went pretty good. But I think I got noticed as a singer more seriously since the time I started recording for Dreamhour.

3.47: Does anyone else in your family sing?
Dreamhour: No one does music professionally but my mom is the only one who can sing in the family .

3.47: What inspires you as a artist?
Dreamhour: Creativity and the drive to create something new is definitely one of the things that inspires me a lot as an artist.

3.47: How supportive have your friends and family been?
Dreamhour: My friends have been very supportive and I owe some of them for all the encouragement from time-to-time. And about my family, the only reason I’m able to do music is my mom. She has been way too supportive all the time. She has put all her faith in me with my decision of pursuing music as more than just a hobby.

3.47: Who would you like to work with next? Anyone famous at all?
Dreamhour: Oh so many artist and producers. If talking about famous band/artists, I would love to work with Bastille big time.

3.47: How hard is it being independent and trying to get your voice out there?
Dreamhour: Considering I have just started out with Dreamhour, it is kind of hard to promote my music but I’m hoping it gets better as time passes.

3.47: When it comes to a track do you get a lot of them and have to decline some? For example the beat might not be to your fitting or are you open to all types?
Dreamhour: Since the time I did ‘Dead V’ with Nightcall, I have got crazy amount of requests for collaborations with different artists and producers. I respond to most of them and quite frankly I want to work with all of them, but time. So I chose the ones that I’m most comfortable working with and the tracks that I tend to enjoy the most. Collaborations are fun though.

3.47: Are you surprised at how big your fan base has become?
Dreamhour: I doubt if I have any fanbase as of yet, but I’m super humbled by the comments on YouTube, SoundCloud and everywhere. Those words are the reason why it’s that much more fun to make and release music now.

3.47: What was your reaction like when you saw the feedback coming in about your music?
Dreamhour: The feedback to ‘Dead V’ was really massive for me. It was amazing. In fact, I was going through a pretty rough patch around the time I wrote the vocals for Dead V and it felt so amazing going through the feedback of the listeners.

3.47: If you had the power to run your own music label, what would you call it?
Dreamhour: I run a small home studio by the name of Storeroom Media, for the obvious reason that it’s set up in a once-storeroom. And I think I would call my record label by the same name. Or something like Storeroom Records.

3.47: What would you say are the advantage/disadvantage of been independent?
Dreamhour: An advantage would be the fact that you can do/play whatever you want your way and there’s no one to restrict you from doing that. Basically, you are your own boss. But then again, being independent, you might not have the resource or contacts that might be needed to get yourself heard more widely.

3.47: Are you hoping to perform live?
Dreamhour: Oh yes, absolutely. Very soon.

3.47: What’s your favourite song at the moment?
Dreamhour: Good Intentions by BRML feat. Axel Mansoor(it’s half an year old though) and also hooked to Bastille’s latest single ‘Bad News’ as well.

3.47: What’s your favourite movie?
Dreamhour: Not a huge movie fan but my favourite has to be ‘Oldboy’, the Korean one.

3.47: What’s the best advice you been given?
Dreamhour: My mom keeps reminding me to never think bad of others and instead spend time doing whatever it is you are passionate about, and success is bound to happen. This has been a consistently helpful ‘advice’ lately.

3.47: What advice can you give to to others who want to be like you?
Dreamhour: (Laughs) I am humbled by this question, but I haven’t even been halfway through to a point where someone would actually want to be like me yet(i guess), but I would advise anyone reading this to just stay original and be themselves.

3.47: What do you do in your spare time?
Dreamhour: Procrastinate, All the way.

3.47: Do you have any other hidden talents?
Dreamhour: I can draw pretty much fine. Just pretty much fine (Laughs)!

3.47: If you had the chance to run YouTube what would you change about it?
Dreamhour: Get rid of those annoying adverts everywhere on the screen.

3.47: You reached out to Nightcall to put vocals on the song Dead V! The lyrics made me have the chills honestly! Where did you the inspiration to write the track?
Dreamhour: I write songs very randomly but at the time I wrote the vocals for ‘Dead V’, I was having one of those down moments in life that you go through. That seemed to have served it’s purpose pretty positively as well.

3.47: La La La Vs A New Surrender … Damn what a track! Can we expect like this in the future?
Dreamhour: Absolutely, YES!.

3.47: What can we expect from you in the future?
Dreamhour: A full-length or at least an EP this year.

3.47: Final question! Any words you want to say to your listeners out there?
Dreamhour: Thanks a lot to anyone who’s reading this. And a truck ton thanks to Fine Tuning347 for this interview. Also, I released my new single with a music video recently. Would love for you guys to check it out. Cheers and take care!

3.47 would like to say a massive thank you to Dreamhour for spending the time doing the interview! Until next time guys!

Dreamhour Links
SoundCloud
Facebook
Twitter
YouTube
Google+
Bandcamp

Leave a Reply

